Butter Tart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great stuff! The filling and dough were both tasty. I didn't add raisins, and found I liked them better that way, but it could be a matter of personal preference. Quick and easy, and just as good as tarts (maybe better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~IndigoMouse~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this recipe is amazing!! it takes no time at all!! Easy for your kids to help you with! Tastes great too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Made these for Canada Day for my husband. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fabulous recipe! I don't understand why anyone is saying the crust is bland. Using tart shells or making your own does not make for a better tasting crust. The yummy part is the filling and these were great! I made a batch with and without raisins and they both came out great. I used a 9x13 pan so the crust wasn't as thick as some said it would be. I also baked them for 35 minutes, then let them cool completely and put them into the fridge for an hour to set before cutting. Perfect!! These are far better than the tart shells - its a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I am a Canadian, living in Namibia for 3 years. I wanted to make my Book Club ladies something somewhat authentically Canadian, and didn't want the fuss of actual butter tarts. These fit the bill quite nicely. I looked at several other recipes from other sites and decided to scale down the flour to 1 cup and it was slightly crumbly but still easy to cut without falling apart. I enjoy a shortbread crust, but those saying it's bland may want to try grinding up some walnuts or pecans and putting that in the base, may add just the flavour you need. I doubled the recipe and made one with raisins, and one with walnuts and coconut; I was a bit disappointed that the filling was quite firm, and was actually looking forward to a more gooey, drip down your chin, finger lickin' mess...that being said, the flavour was delicious! I might make more filling next time, to increase the filling to ratio crust. My mum always used currants in her butter tarts, and will try this recipe with that as well. Will definitely make again and work on getting the gooey factor...the ladies all loved it incidentally, and most asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Even my boyfriend who isn't crazy about baking liked these. I only had enough butter for the filling and used margerine for the crust. It turned out great! It didn't fall apart at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JASMINE05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leeshe
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
VVVery yummy!!!! Next time will add blond raisins & coconut & walnut to the filling!!! GREAT EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
These were delicious, except the shortbread crust fell apart in the pan. Very sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The buttertart part tasted good but the crust was very bland and the squares were really gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made two batches (one with raisins, one without) and both were way too sticky to cut and remove from the pan. I tried baking them an extra 10 minutes, let them thoroughly cool and tried again with a tad more success. Tasted good but I had to use them as ice cream topping, not squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States