Butter Tart Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
One word - MOO. These muffins are delish. I used Ener-G as an egg substitute and soy butter to veganize the recipe. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
These muffins were great! They were full of raisins and they really reminded me of butter tarts! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I love butter tarts, but not these. I found no resemblance between these muffins and butter tarts. I thought I had done it wrong the first time as the batter is as thick as cookie batter and I threw it out and started over, after getting the same result twice I come to the conclusion that it was meant to be that way. They seem to cook very fast on the top tho, so keep an eye on them, we have a gas oven so things do tend to bake faster in gas. I will stick to proper butter tarts and give this recipe a miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I don't know why I kept looking at this recipe but I finally made it. Loved this out of the oven (after it was cool) - I don't normally like maple syrup but someone said it couldn't be forgotten, so I did it. It made this great crunchy topping. I will decrease the sugar next time to about 1/2 a cup - it was way too sweet. I will also whisk the cooked mixture vigorously the whole time cooking, as I did get scrambling in parts. Also baked it at 350 as suggested by others for 25 minutes. The boyfriend and roommate loved these! I'm dying to try the strawberry suggestion someone else made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
these are to die for. Do not omit the maple syrup it just gives that little bit more to these muffins. I, like many others, baked these at 350 for 18-20 min. Keep an eye on them they do brown quickly. I also used dried berry mix instead of raisins! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were pretty good, just not the knock out I expected. The mixture in the pan seemed lumpy (watch for the eggs becoming "scrambled"). I would give them another try though, maybe with cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
A new favourite! Good with or without the syrup-- it really doesn't make all that big of a difference. I made my second batch with coconut-- and I'll be adding that from now on in place of the nuts and by-passing the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
These were 4 stars the day I made them (a little too custardy), but they are much better after a day or more. I put mine in the freezer, and they defrosted wonderfully and deliciously! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
...Sweet..good texture with slightly crunchy tops...raisins kinda pop in your mouth when you bite down on one of these...Fill your muffin cups full as these do not rise (I ended up with 15)...I baked at 350 for 20 and left off the maple syrup...kids loved them right out of the oven. Hope they are just as good later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Absolutly fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States