Butter Tart Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
These muffins are fabulous! My whole family loved them and they have become part of my regular muffin baking. Very easy and yes they really so taste like butter tarts. I have made them with and without the nuts. Try them, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Thanks, HeleJean - Great Muffins! I just made these this morning for an art class my sister gives up here in the canyon. I followed the recipe step-by-step, making only those adjustments I normally do for baking at our 8,000-foot elevation. Oh, and I did use paper liners in the muffin pan rather than grease it. Everything went very well. The batter was very light and fluffy and there was just enough of it to fill the cups to the top. They puffed up slightly during baking, but did not for a mushroom-type top. I don't think they really need the corn syrup on top, but, though it makes things a tad sticky, it was good. I might try maple syrup instead sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Very tasty and easy! They really do taste like butter tarts and they work fine without the nuts or raisins. You don't need nearly that much corn syrup on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I had all the ingredients on hand so I thought I'd check these muffins out. I may have cooked the raisin mixture too long or maybe I didn't cool it in the fridge long enough. In any event, my muffins didn't look anything like the picture here. When I added the mixture to the flour mixture, the batter was awfully thick. No problem, I used a soup spoon and put the muffin mixture in the pan. Baked them for the suggested time and although they don't look like the writer's pic, they tasted pretty darn good! I'll definitely make them again but will watch how long I heat the raisin mixture on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Meh, these were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
it was okay, too many raisins everywhere and the corn styrup just ran off the top of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAPUANANI468

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very easy recipe!! The texture is incredibly soft and I love how the raisins give this natural sweetness to the flavour. and oh, I didn't use corn syrup and walnuts. but still, it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I forgot to add the syrup when I made these and they still came out moist and delish! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
very good muffins served warm, but still serviceable at room temperature on an everyday breakfast table. I put macadamia nuts instead of walnuts, and it turned out all right: I think they even would be OK without bothering with nuts at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I PUT IN A REVIEW EARLIER TODAY THEN TOOK THE MUFFINS TO A CHURCH MEETING AND THEY RECEIVED RAVE REVIEWS. REQUESTS FOR A REPEAT AND WOULD I GIVE THE RECIPE TO ONE GAL. I WOULD CALL THAT A GREAT SUCCESS. THANKS HELENA I UNDER-RATED THEM EARLIER SO PLEASE ACCEPT THIS REVISED REVIEW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States