Butter Tart Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy to make, great taste. My muffins didn't rise as much and had a lumpy finish - I had enough batter for 20 muffins in regular muffin pans filled 2/3 full as I usually do, even though the recipe said it only yielded 12, so not sure if I should have just filled more, or what. The batter was very thick, more like a drop biscuit dough / cookie dough in texture and consistency, so that might be why. Possibly the instruction to "cool slightly" could be open to instruction which may have been my problem. Or the custard was cooked too much to begin with. The taste and texture warm are great, will try again and hope for muffins that look more like those in the pictures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I had all the ingredients on hand so I thought I'd check these muffins out. I may have cooked the raisin mixture too long or maybe I didn't cool it in the fridge long enough. In any event, my muffins didn't look anything like the picture here. When I added the mixture to the flour mixture, the batter was awfully thick. No problem, I used a soup spoon and put the muffin mixture in the pan. Baked them for the suggested time and although they don't look like the writer's pic, they tasted pretty darn good! I'll definitely make them again but will watch how long I heat the raisin mixture on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Meh, these were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Thanks, HeleJean - Great Muffins! I just made these this morning for an art class my sister gives up here in the canyon. I followed the recipe step-by-step, making only those adjustments I normally do for baking at our 8,000-foot elevation. Oh, and I did use paper liners in the muffin pan rather than grease it. Everything went very well. The batter was very light and fluffy and there was just enough of it to fill the cups to the top. They puffed up slightly during baking, but did not for a mushroom-type top. I don't think they really need the corn syrup on top, but, though it makes things a tad sticky, it was good. I might try maple syrup instead sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These Muffins are really good, thick texture,Corn syrup really not a necessity, next time I will have to make sure to have walnuts or pecans, Not sure if its really a butter tart flavor but they are rich in flavor for sure. Four and a half stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenostar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very easy recipe!! The texture is incredibly soft and I love how the raisins give this natural sweetness to the flavour. and oh, I didn't use corn syrup and walnuts. but still, it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These muffins were just what I was looking for! I replaced the walnuts with chopped pecans. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This might well be the best muffin I have ever eaten. So simple and so delicious. I didnt have the corn syrup but it didnt seem to hurt them at all. Simple, moist, sweet and full of raisin and walnut goodness, what more can you ask for. I will definately make these again and again. Not sure if I want to share the recipes with friends and family because its one worth keeping secret to wow them at social functions...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious Muffins! Made recipe pretty much as directed, except I added a tbsp of rum extract. YUM! They turned out quite dense and not too sweet at all. Next time I think I will add a few tbsp of maple syrup for more flavour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love them. I didn't have any raisins, but other then that I followed the recipe exactly. I used a bigger muffin pan and scaled the recipe to 16, it was just the right amount for 12 bigger muffins. Will be making them again. Might try adding butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States