Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I broke my cookie press and had to improvise and came out with the best cookies ever! I rolled the dough into balls, rolled that in coconut, and put strawberry jam in a thumbprint I made in the middle--people tell me they're the best cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Absolutely perfect little butter cookie that's highly addictive! They just seem to pop right in your mouth. They're not overly sweet and I love the addition of the orange zest. I did increase the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. but other than that I didn't change a thing. This was a great recipe for a cookie press! Just sprinkle with some colored sugar and you're ready to make a holiday cookie tray look like it came straight from your favorite bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Wow! These knocked my socks off! They are delicious. I also doubled the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. and added a little nutmeg. Then I added a 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the mix. I colored half the dough green and pressed into Christmas trees and the other half I left white and used a snowflake design. Mine were done in about 5 mins though so the first batch burned (had it set for 12 mins). It also made more than I thought -- between 7-8 dozen. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
These are the best cookie press cookies I have ever made. I omitted the zest and added a bit more cinnamon as suggested by other reviewers. I used the disk that I thought most resembled a snowflake and sprinkled them with red, green and white nonpariels before baking. They look so festive and will make a great addition to my cookie trays. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I lost this recipe years ago and have been unsuccessfully trying to duplicate it for many holidays. I found that by increasing the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp or adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg to recipe, it increases the taste tremendously. Cookie can also be decorated with sprinkles, cherries, or colored sugar for holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Oh my, these are wonderful! I increased the amount of cinnamon, used 1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, and used the zest of a whole medium orange to make them extra "orangey". The next batch I plan on dipping one side in Melted Ghirardelli Bittersweet Chocolate. I think that will be heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
*yummy*! I don't have a cookie press (yet), so I made these as regular cookies for one batch, then turned them into thumbprint cookies with raspberry jelly for the next batches -- delicious! Definitely will make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe was so easy and the cookies turned out great. This is a wonderful pick for a cookie exchange or a filler among a plate of other goodies. I added a bit more orange zest and also squeezed about a 1/4 teaspoon of the orange juice. It turned out so yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Delicious and very easy! Dough worked with cookie press nicely. No sticking or clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Absolutely THE BEST cookie press cookie recipe around! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States