Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I wanted to make some Christmas cookies with my cookie press. I've tried other recipes but this one is definitely the best. I left out the orange zest because I didn't have any- still very delicious. The dough is easy to handle and the cookies had a great shape. They melt in your mouth...I didn't want to give them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Moist and delicious little cookies! I needed a press cookie recipe using ingredients I had on hand when I came across this one. I don't keep crisco (shortening) on hand which eliminated a lot of recipes, including the one that came with the cookie press. The only substitution I made was neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese and I don't think it made a difference. The orange zest gives a great, subtle flavor. I watched these cookies like a hawk to be sure they didn't overcook. I took them out before the edges browned. I didn't use a food coloring, but I could see how that would work well with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
First time using a cookie press. A good and light cookie. My kids I are like them, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Best spritz cookie I've ever had. Delicious! I made them then froze them for a week and they were still good several days after being thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I made these for Christmas Eve and they surprised everyone. They are small and plain but so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These were so delicious! I don't have a cookie press, but I just put them into rounded balls and put red and green sprinkles on top. They were easy to make and definitely a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forked River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good, i used orange flavoring but added to much. next time i will use 1/2 tsp instead of a whole one. thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was very excited to find so many great reviews on this spritz cookie twist. I love orange and vanilla (creamsicle, yum) so the combination seemed perfect. The texture of the dough was perfect for the cookie press. However, I was very disappointed in the final product. They had a great initial flavor but the follow up taste of the cream cheese seemed almost like a chemical flavor - a little sour and dissappointing. I used 4 oz of full fat cream cheese, only real vanilla extract, lightly zested orange rind and a tiny bit of vanilla bean. Next year I will stick to the classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love these cookies. The orange and cinnamon really make these stand apart from the ordinary flavorless spritz cookies you usually get around the holidays. The only suggestion I would make is to make these right before you plan on giving them out. I made them a week a head of time and they had turned somewhat soft. Otherwise, these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMegster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've used the Williams Sonoma cookie press for years and this was hands down the easiest recipe to press. Cookies were light, tasty and came out of the press perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States