Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe said and I tried to press them through a pastry bag...That didn't go so well, it was way too thick to even go through the piping tip so I had to make it softer. This changed the recipe a bit and the cookies came out flat. They tasted VERY good, and they were soft, but I was very disappointed that I couldn't use my pastry bag, and I don't have enough money to buy a press, since I'm a college student and can barely make it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I followed other readers' suggestions and made these into thumbprint cookies filled with seedless raspberry jam. They were so well received on Christmas Eve that I came home and made another batch right away for Christmas day. Definitely a recipe that will be on my cookie trays every Christmas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really liked these. I thought they had a great buttery flavor. They aren't too tasty fresh out of the oven though, they are much better when they cool off. Odd for a cookie My husband couldn't stand them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is an absolutely fabulous cookie that keeps for weeks in a Tupperware container on the counter - if they last that long. I also increased the cinnamon and added the nutmeg. Great cookie to make ahead for the holidays so you don't have to do everything at the last minute. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I just got a cookie press and wanted to try out some different recipes. The traditional, plain recipes are just not that good... not worth wasting calories on, I say. These are amazing. The second time I doubled the cinnamon and orange zest and they were even better. Very easy to work with in the cookie press. My mom and grandmother loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made these with a bunch other to give as Christmas presents. These were the favorite cookies out of all the others. Easy to use in a cookie press and fun to decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this was a good recipe and made a lot of cookies. i added green food coloring to half the dough to make cute christmas trees. i also piped icing onto them and added colored sugars. they were very festive and pretty. i did however cut down on the cooking time...i baked them for 9 minutes. i was hoping for a more flavorful cookie. if i make these again, i will do what other readers have suggested and make them into jam thumbprints. thanks for the recipe! i had a fun time making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannoula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I was at my mom's house without a cookie press. I rolled the dough into balls. Half I flattened by pressing with the back of a fork. With the other half I made thumbprint cookies as another reviewer suggested. Rolled in coconut, created an indention with my thumb and filled with cherry preserves. Awesome cookies! Both versions were a hit. These are going to be my favorite non-chocolate Christmas treat. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!!! I bought a new electric cookie press just to make these, and I was NOT disappointed. It was super easy and everyone that tried them absolutely loved them. I didn't do a lot of tweaking, but I did use seasonal mandarin oranges for the zest and added a bit more vanilla as well as a little of the manadrin orange juice. I also sprinkled some nutmeg in, as I am totally addicted to anything with nutmeg. I will definitely be keeping this one in my holiday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States