Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I liked these cookies well enough for a tasty little butter cookie that was a good filler in my holiday cookie platters. Unfortunately, the dough would not cooperate with either of my two cookie presses (manual pampered chef, nor an electric one) so I just used a small scoop, flattened with the bottom of a glass and pretty colored sugars. I did not alter the recipe at all so my rating is based on the recipe as posted, and reading reviews I see many reviewers increased either the cinnamon or orange zest. If I tried these again I would definitely do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandi Judkins
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fantastic Recipe! The only change I made was to increase the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp as other reviewers mentioned. The orange zest is perfect! It gives just the right touch of flavor to this cookie. My cookie press gave me fits and for some reason I could not get them to form, so after thinking on it for a while, I rolled the dough into small balls, baked for 14 minutes and drizzled with semi-sweet chocolate. Probably the best cookie I've ever made! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Oh ... these are GOOD! The only thing I did different was double the cinnamon - we like cinnamon. These turned out light, buttery and had the perfect texture! I did have to bake them for the full 15 mins to get them to lightly brown on the tips. But you would have to adjust time according to your oven as everyone's is different. ;) I had no problems pushing this dough through my $10 cookie press! Worked perfectly! Well ... almost .. I need to bake MORE because we ate them up too fast! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
so good. I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Was to sticky for the electric press I have to do with the flower disk, so I had to use the tube instead. Not a good recipe for a cookie press. But they did test good. I was only disappointed on not being able to put them through the press=Anita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
delicious!! my kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good. Omitted orange zest. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Pleasantly easy with a very buttery flavor. Didn't have an orange on hand so I added a splash of OJ instead (something my grandmother used to do with her butter cookies) and they came out delightful. Great reason for me to take out that cookie press that I haven't used in years. Dusted them with white crystal sugar for an added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
One of THE BEST cookies EVER. I made some with the press and a batch as thumbprints too. I tried raspberry preserves and apricot preserves. They were ALL so delicate and YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gruppuso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
oh my goodness, these biscuits are really amazing. I didn't have a cookie press but I took another viewers advice and rolled the dough in coconut and they turned out so incredible. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geordie in Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States