Butter Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was very excited to find so many great reviews on this spritz cookie twist. I love orange and vanilla (creamsicle, yum) so the combination seemed perfect. The texture of the dough was perfect for the cookie press. However, I was very disappointed in the final product. They had a great initial flavor but the follow up taste of the cream cheese seemed almost like a chemical flavor - a little sour and dissappointing. I used 4 oz of full fat cream cheese, only real vanilla extract, lightly zested orange rind and a tiny bit of vanilla bean. Next year I will stick to the classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love these cookies. The orange and cinnamon really make these stand apart from the ordinary flavorless spritz cookies you usually get around the holidays. The only suggestion I would make is to make these right before you plan on giving them out. I made them a week a head of time and they had turned somewhat soft. Otherwise, these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMegster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've used the Williams Sonoma cookie press for years and this was hands down the easiest recipe to press. Cookies were light, tasty and came out of the press perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is the first spritz recipe that i have not thrown in the trash! Absolutely great! I have always had trouble with the dough not releasing from the cookie press. Every cookie released and held their shape. I used a Wilton press and some inexpensive cookie sheets. When the dough became too soft, I put it in the fridge for about 5 minutes. Cookie sheets at room temp, or a little cooler. i washed them after each batch to get rid of the grease. 8 -9 minutes tops. I think this one is foolproof!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Truly excellent cookies! I didn't have orange zest so doubled the cinnamon and they are perfect! Can't wait to try them with the orange! Every oven is different of course, but I burned my first batch-7 mins is perfect in my oven, 12-15 was way too long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
i eliminated the orange zest and added 1/2 teaspoon of extra cinnamon like others suggested. they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Wonderful! The house smelled of oranges after making these!! My changes - used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice (as I ran out of cinnamon making other cookies) & the zest of an entire orange as others had suggested. Yum Yum! You gotta make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe was great, bu i tweaked it a bit, less flour only 2 cups and more cinnamon and a little nutmeg! Loved the way the orange zest brightened it up! If your having trouble getting the cookies to stick to the sheet you can put the pan in the freezer, it helps them stick better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I went a little strong on the cinnamon, vanilla & zest- they are delectable! making more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debblee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
First time my Spritz cookies came out perfect. Making another batch to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States