Butter Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe loosely, using it basically as a guide. I used the traditional flour, egg, bread crumb method for breading, a little more seasoning in the crumbs, some shallots along with the mushrooms and garlic and a good deal of chicken broth along with the wine for the gravy. Didn't bother to measure anything, just used all ingredients to taste or as needed. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used pre-tenderized pork leg cutlets, and that part of the recipe was very good. I added a bit of oregano. The mushroom "sauce" on the other hand was just incredibly greasy mushrooms. The right mushroom sauce would be good in this recipe but this mushroom sauce isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. The pork was so tender. I too reduced the amount of butter in the sauce. I used cremini mushrooms and sautéed them before adding the wine. I would have given this 4.5 stars if possible. My husband really liked this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We went to a German restaurant recently and had their schnitzel. My husband has been craving it since. We decided to try this one. A very easy and flavorful recipe. We made a dijon mustard cream sauce to accompany our schnitzel. Great dish. Adding to the recipe box and will be making again. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I didn't use the sauce, because we don't like mushrooms, but the pork was delicious! Since I did not use the sauce, I decided to add some garlic powder to the bread crumb mixture and it worked well. I made 6 pork loin chops for my husband and I, but I will definitely make more next time! It was so good, that it barely lasted for more than one meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Delicious. I did have to alter slightly, lcaking some ingredients, substituting others.: used saltine crackers, not bread crumbs, along with cornmeal; red not white wine, but still was really good. Will try this again with all the right stuff, and it will surely be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made a mess making these but the flavor was good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Pretty good, but I also found the butter content to be excessive. I would go so far as to quarter it the next time I make it. This was pretty quick and easy, good weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good even if you only use the breading to fry the chops. Oh I added a little green onion when cooking the garlic to add in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I had been looking for a new, simple way to cook the same old boneless pork chops. I tried this recipe and my husband loves it! Quick and easy, and the mushroom sauce is delicious! I prepared the recipe as directed, except that I used apple juice instead of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States