Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
These worked well in the press, which I was glad for! After mixing up all the batter though, I noticed it looked dry and crumbly, so I followed others advice and added 3 tbsp butter. That made a better consistency. (I had even added 15 drops green food coloring to the wet ingredients, which made for a pleasing green color when baked.) I subbed in extra vanilla for the almond, but I thought the flavor was a little salty. Admittedly I did use salted butter instead of unsalted, which I recently learned is the standard (and assumed in recipes) for baked goods, so that could have been the issue. Overall a good butter cookie. My press must make tiny cookies though, because these only took 3 minutes to get brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
An excellent spritz cookie recipe! I added a tsp more almond extract for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Love these, although I thought they needed to be a little sweeter so I topped them with a recipe for 'Sugar Cookie Icing'. They were great after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuggin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tastytreats
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I received a cookie press for Christmas and I was dying to try it out. I choose this recipe over countless others (all are really similar this one just seemed the simplest) and I am so glad I did. They were delicious, perfect with cocoa and coffee. After reading the reviews I omitted almond extract. I really don't think the cookies were missing it. The dough stuck to the pan without any problems, except of course when the baking sheet was right out of the oven ( I just ran it under cold water). I'm really glad I tried this recipe, now I have something new to add to my baking collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just like my mom made (and me by default) from when I was little! Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Yummy and very easy...had to make two batches! The first one I added 2 additional tablespoons of butter after I had everything mixed, the second was just fine...probably my accurate measuring...LOL. Had one dark cookie sheet and one bright aluminum so I baked them at 375 and that worked great (5 min. on dark & 6 min. on bright). I like to have a sheet loaded and ready to put into the oven when the baked sheet comes out so, I made do with what I had. Also, used Mexican white vanilla and no almond extract. I washed the sheets after each trip through the oven. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These turned out beautifully, looked very professional. I did have trouble getting them through the press at first, I added 2 Tbls of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Been making spritz 35 years and I try new recipes every year and this is by far THE BEST! So buttery and light! Easy to use out of the cookie press. I have the old fashioned hand twist kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I substituted the almond for lemon and it did not really appeal to me but other than that they were good cookies and came out of the press nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These taste best when there is no browning- 6 minutes creates a melt-in-your-mouth cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States