Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
*sigh* I had a tough time deciding on how many stars to give this recipe... they tasted pretty good, better than most spritz in my opinion and the texture worked WONDERFULLY in my cookie press.... HOWEVER... the dough was so thick it burnt up my stand mixer :( and I have mixed some thick dough in the past.... and they spread in the oven :( another minus in my book... and this recipe does not yield very many cookies... I am thinking a whole pound of butter (double recipe) is an awful lot to use to get as few cookies as I did... so all in all I gave it a 3... I will probably go back to my "Snowflakes" recipe with cream cheese, it works better overall for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great spritz recipe. I thought I didn't like these cookies until I tried this recipe. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELINAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
As good as Grandma used to make. So easy and for the first time ever my cookie press worked wonderfully no problems at all. I did omit the salt as we are salt restricted but they taste great... This will be my recipe to use from now on. Lyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
does not tell you that you need to sift flour till very end of instructions i now have several dollars worth of ruined dough i cannot get through the press i would never recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Best Spritz recipe by far...i did however take the tip and use 1/4 tsp almond and 1/4 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Wow - these are really good! Buttery, melt in your mouth goodness! I made it exactly as written and they turned out great. I used food coloring to color the dough and used sprinkles before baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Awesome Spritz cookies with one modification by adding extra 2 tsp butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have made many different spritz recipes and this was by far my least favorite. The texture and aftertaste were not great. I will definitely not be using this recipe again...maybe it is the confectioners' sugar...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Maybe even 4 1/2 stars! I followed the recipe, reducing the vanilla to 1/2 t. and keeping the almond at 1/2 t. I added food coloring to portions to make some red and some green (keeping some natural) to make Christmas cookies (trees, wreaths, flowers, etc.). I also set the oven to 375 instead of 400 degrees (which is what my other spritz recipes say). In 7 minutes, they were cooked perfectly. I might try what some other reviewers suggested and put in a couple more teaspoons of butter. Also, I used one stick salted butter and the other unsalted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added the extra 2 TBSP butter per TRISHY, totally eliminated the almond extract in lieu of a bit more vanilla extract, and WOW! These are the best; I can't wait for my family to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States