Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
very good-used 1/2 amount of almond just to be safe otherwise exactly as written turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was the worst spritz cookie recipe I ever had. The cookies were flat and overwhelming with the almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We gave this recipe three stars due to the flour amounts listed. We only used 2 cups of flour. 2.5 was too much, made for dry dough. We also baked for 5 minutes and stayed by the oven because they brown quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great cookies! I had never used my cookie press before, so I used this recipe to try it out. I had a little wrestling and learning to use the cookie press itself, but the cookies turned out great. Very pretty and great taste. Just don't overbake them! Watch them closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINSY039

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good recipe!! Make sure you don't over cook them, and use quality ingredients! I also found that waiting until the dough is at room temperature helped make the dough go through the press easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I was so excited to get to finally use my cookie press but now I am not sure I want to try again! I followed the recipe exactly as written and the dough was definitely too dry to use in a cookie press. I resorted to making them more of the pecan sandie look with christmas sprinkles. The cookies actually tasted very good but if you are planning on using a press may need to search for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
If you are in Canada you might need to use less flour (Canadian flour is "harder" than flour in the US). I used the amount called for in the recipe and the dough was too stiff to put in a cookie press. I made thumb-print cookies out of the dough and the filled the indentation with red sugar. They still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I'll start with what I didn't like about these (because that's the very short list). Using the recipe as written, these were just a little too dry for my liking. Having said that, if you like the Pecan Sandie texture for your spritz cookies (crumbly and melt in your mouth), then these will be right on the money for you. On to the good! The flavor of these is wonderful. I have absolutely no idea what the reviewers mentioning an 'aftertaste' are on about. It tastes like a hint of almond, because... well, there's almond extract in the receipe. It certainly isn't bitter or unpleasant using the 1/2 tsp as directed. Tastes PERFECT to me. To sum up, if you like more of a shortbread texture in your spritz cookies, then give these a try, you won't be disappointed. If you like them with just a bit more hard weight (as I do), then try a different recipe. There are many to choose from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCYL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These cookies were ok. They were a little dry. I followed this recipe exactly, except I slightly reduced the almond extract because of what other reviewers said. It was just under 1/2 tsp. There's a possiblity that those who think there's an aftertaste may be using imitation almond extract. I always use pure extracts. When I put it all together, it was very crumbly. Other reviewers said they needed to add 2-3 T more of butter- I didn't think I would have this problem since I live in SE Louisiana and humidity is always an issue! But I had to add a few T of butter myself, and they were still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Cookie has good flavor but very difficult to work with using a cookie press. Would not make this again. Took entirely too long !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States