Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This cake is just like my mom's. It's great. Try it with a icing on top. It's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe as a first-time pound cake effort, and was not disappointed. I was trying to recreate a cake my Great-Aunt used to make back in the 50's, on low country SC farm, when I was a child. Her cake had that rough, greasy, grainy texture I've always associated with pound cakes, not the fluffy, powdery fall-apart-in-your hands you get in the chain stores & indeed, even home-baked cakes nowadays. Apparently, nobody wants to use butter, Crisco, even "lard", in cakes. Anyway, this recipe turned out a wonderful, old-time pound cake that a group of 15-odd folks at a Christmas party absolutely loved (and most of them over-50, with similar grandmother memories like me). I did make one change - 2 sticks of butter are not enough for authenticity. I went with the full "pound", 4 sticks, and kept the whipping cream, although I was leery of it....did have the foresight to run to Walmart and get a true tube pan. The bundt pan my wife had would NEVER have accomodated the mix - half would have ended up on the oven bottom. Great recipe, great results. Ray in Covington, GA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was a good cake but too sweet for my taste. I will make it again, but reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I would like to thank the person responsible for this recipe.This cake was absolutely spectacular.I know it will be a long time before I purchase a box of cake mix again.Not only was this my first time making a cake from scratch ,but it was the best cake I ever ate .Thank to all that made this possible.Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Taste is amazing, my husband loves this! I had to make more the same day. On first try top came out very toasted and crunchy. I filled up the pan all the way because I thought it wouldn't grow, but it did and overflowed quite a bit. Didn't change the consistency or taste. Still amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Deserves more than 5 stars! The only change I made was I used a bundt pan. The first time it was almost overflowing. The second time I left out a small amount of batter and put it in mini muffin tins. Made a perfect cake and about a dozen small ones for my kids to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
It tasted great ! the top was a bit crunchy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This cake was perfect. There is no need to change one thing. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. It is a very moist cake. I made a lemon glaze to go over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I was browsing around for pound cake recipes and found this one. Easy to make and not a lot of ingredients to keep up with. Sprinkled some powdered sugar on it and took it into work. They really liked it. I took some to my sister, between that and work, the whole cake was gone. I'm making another one that I plan to put an orange glaze on it. The recipe is very versatile & you can substitute various flavorings in it and it still turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this cake over the weekend to take to work, and everyone loved it. The cake was really moist. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe. Chef Perisee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefwannab  Perisee

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States