Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very, very tasty but MUCH TOO DENSE. I used lemon zest instead of extract, sifted the flour, didn't work it too much, and good lord, talk about your doorstops! Tasty tho; I'll definitely up the butter, lessen the cream, and add some baking powder next time for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This recipe is great! I served it warm with sauteed cinnamon and brown sugar peach slices and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sglenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
OMG!!! This cake is delicious!! I made a couple of changes that I felt would be helpful. I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 cup of milk and 1 small container of Activia Vanilla yogurt. I used 2 and 1/2 cups sugar instead of 3 cups and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt, baking soda and backing powder. It was so delicious!! You taste the butter and vanilla. I know I'll be making this recipe for a while now. I could not stop eating this delicious cake! I recommend you try it for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was the best pound cake I ever made. It rec'd rave reveiws from everyone who ate it. I you follow directions exactly it comes out moist, and tastey. If you beat the butter well 3minutes and add sugar then beat 4 minutes and slowly add remaining ingredients it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kensington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is the best pound cake. Have used it many times and always turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
FAB RECIPE!!! My husband loved it! He said it taste just like the cake his grandmother use to make. I will be using this recipe for years to come. Thanks 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
great...everyone at work loved this recipe. i used cake flour and by mistake table sppons of lemon instead of teaspoons...still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Dangerously Delicious!! I made home made strawberry ice cream to go over it, which was yummy too, but the next few days I kept going back just for another bite of cake every time I went into the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Great recipe - except that I didn't have regular butter so I used unsalted, didn't have whipping cream and misread how much it called for, so I used sour cream and only put in 8 ounces - turned out beautifully and I had several people ask me to make them one and where did I get the recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a simple yet great recipe - take the time to cream the butter and sugar THOROUGHLY I let it go for several minutes on a kitchen aid high power mixer - mine fluffs up and actually would rise out of a 9.25 round pan by 1" or more - with no leavening the proper mixing will create air in the sugar and butter part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States