Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
After reading the good reviews, I was excited about trying this recipe.I went out and bought the expensive ingredients (Lemon extract 5.49, heavy cream pint 3.09). The cake came out really bad. It's like a giant biscuit. I had to leave it in longer than 1 1/2 hours also because it was not baked enough by that time. I don't regret trying the recipe, but there is no do over with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
not so keen to have on its own but makes a good trifle base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This recipe is great!! My mother had a similar recipe and the cake was good, but dry. I found this one and have been using it ever since. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I love this cake!! i am a amateur at baking and i live in Nicaragua, i used sour cream instead and forgot the vanilla jijij it was great!!!!! perfect flavor. the only thing is i dont know what i did wrong but the bottom of the cake looked like not cook i really dont know how to explain but i dont think it was the recepie because i have tried other and the result it the same, i know im not doing something any advices???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilviaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I was excited about this cake, followed the recipe to a T, and planned to use it in a cake with a mold that needed a firm cake. But it didn't rise at all - I should have read the other review to add some baking powder or soda. I left it in the 1 1/2 hours and it seemed done, but cutting into it the deck day the middle was still undercooked. On the positive side the taste is great if your looking for a dense cake - just be sure to cook it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is my first time baking a homemade cake and by far this is the best cake ever!!! I have baked 2 in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pwilkerson
Home Town: Millbrook, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I've been looking for a pound cake recipe just like this for a while now. I got to where I did not like my old one anymore but this, now this is a keeper. Even 5 days later still great maybe better. Thanks, Diana Moore for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
First time making it, and it turned out awesome! (even without the vanilla extract because I didn't have it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The top turned out hard, but the rest was good. It was easy to carve, except for the sides which also came out hard, and that was after putting it in for ten minutes less then it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SARAHERCK
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
The best pound cake I've ever had. I think the heavy whipping cream is what makes it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mora, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States