Butter Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Chef Gela
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Great recipe, close to Hot Milk Cake texture; heavier though. Cooked in about 40 minutes less the suggested time when using a flat pan (Nordic Ware Marianne pan) vs. a 10-cup tube/bundt pan. Definitely would make again! Oh, used I teaspoon of lemon extract and one teaspoon of almond extract, instead of two tsps of lemon...tasted more almond than lemon. One taster detected all of the flavorings...so the lemon is not lost. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This didn't work out for me. I will try again only b/c I am not a good baker but normally I can make pound cakes but this recipe did not turn out right. The middle wasn't done after the suggested time so I left it in a little longer. But once done, the taste was awful. It could have been me, so I will give it another chance after I forget how much money I wasted on ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I just wish my cake looked as good as the picture but it sure smelled and tasted like a 5 star cake. I forgot to put in the vanilla and lemon extract but I did add mini chocolate chips. I also used half and half instead of the heavy cream. The finished product has a nice crusty outside and inside was moist and so sweet and tasty. I am also making it as a tier cake so the consistency was perfect for that. Thanks Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I was looking for a heavy cake that I could use for fondant and this one was great! I didn't have any of the problems that some of the other reviews stated. No moisture coming out on top, no sugared egg flavor and no gritty texture. It was moist and dense and very good! I didn't use the lemon, just added another tsp of vanilla. FYI- it doesn't rise very much and it pulls away about 1/2 an inch from the sides. It's a lot of batter so if you cut the recipe in half, it's the perfect size for an 8 in. round. I will definatly use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe was not good at all. The cake turned out tasting like sugared eggs rather than cake. It was also way too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This cake was great. I made a ton of mistakes and it still turned out delicious. I didn't have heavy cream so I used 2% milk and extra butter. I also had no lemon extract and just used a extra dollop of vanilla. I only made half the recipes, but forgot to cut down the baking time. Luckily I kept checking back. I will remake this recipe with all the right ingredients. I like that the cake was very moist and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The flavor reminded me of a great orange pie my grandmother used to make. I know there is no orange in it but perhaps the vanilla/lemon mix gave it a slight orange taste. I found the cake to be very oily and more light and airy then dense. The texture was sort of like corn meal. I will try it one more time but if it comes out the same I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I have been looking for a pound cake that I am able to make without the baking soda or baking powder, and I tell you this cake is really easy to make. Not to mention very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent flavor and texture I could not believe that this cake would taste this way because there were no rising agent but it was very light and good to the last crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Excellent cake! I topped it off with the chocolate ganache from Allrecipes and it was a hit! I took it to a party and with all the other desserts, I didn't bring back one piece. I'm going to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States