Butter Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I've made this before, but added sliced cabbage and onions, it's the best yet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
the greatest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This is a great recipe....we make these for every camping trip. However, I do not use so much butter. We slice the potatoes and arrange in layers in a throw-away-aluminum pan. On each layer we put small pieces of butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. If we have real onion, I will use that instead of the powder. We cover with foil and place on our grill. We bring a small propane grill when we camp. We cook for about 30-45 minutes. They are always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
this recipe is easy for 14 years and older so my daughter makes it for an after school snack when im not home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
this is my go to recipe whenever we camp. It goes with everything. like other reviewers, I don't use quite as much butter, 1 stick instead of 2 usually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Too easy to make as a side dish when doing chicken in the oven. Also really easy to change to your family's preference. I usually add garlic and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a better alternative to frozen processed potatoes. I prefer to omit all that butter in favor of olive oil which is healthier and handles the heat better. Toss the cubed potatoes (I leave the skins)in a light coating of corn starch to improve crisping, add just enough olive oil to keep potatoes from sticking to your pan, and season with paprika, pepper, and salt or garlic salt. Turn potatoes about every 8-10 minutes during 20-25 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I make these all the time when we go camping, adding chopped onions and garlic as well as red and green peppers, and wrap in several layers of foil. I, too, use EVOO instead of butter, and they still get carmelized and crispy over the campfire. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This can be done in the mocrowave too. Cut the potatoes in bite sized pieces, (I like to leave the skins on)lay them on a microwave safe plate and cover with moistened paper towels. Nuke on high for about 2 minutes or until the spuds are soft. Add butter and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been doing this for years. However, that seems like a lot of butter, and I love butter. I probably use about half of that amount. I also add garlic salt (instead of regular salt) and parsley. Most of the time I cook this on the grill in a foil packet, but have done it in the oven. Make sure to turn occasionally or they may stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palestine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States