Butter Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
These potatoes are easy to make and they tasted great. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
These taste fine, but I felt so guilty after eating them because of the amount of butter used. Honestly though, I didn't find they were all that different from similar recipes that used olive oil that I know have to be a whole lot less fattening. I won't make them again for that reason alone. I baked mine in the oven and added some Key West spice blend. Again, the taste wasn't the issue, it was the grease coated feeling they left in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
We made these on the grill while camping...very greasy with only an average taste and I even added some minced garlic and a good couple of shakes of all-season salt. I guess I can't expect gourmet while in the woods but I can't say that I'd make these again (at least for sure not while we're at home!). Maybe take the former reviewers advice and use olive oil? Thanks anyways - the camping was still fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I have made these a few times and I do use the E.V.O.O. instead of all that butter. I can't imagine that much butter (and I love butter). I also add some fresh spices...whatever I have on hand that day. This is really good...but you do have to tinker with it to make it great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This is a great recipe....we make these for every camping trip. However, I do not use so much butter. We slice the potatoes and arrange in layers in a throw-away-aluminum pan. On each layer we put small pieces of butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. If we have real onion, I will use that instead of the powder. We cover with foil and place on our grill. We bring a small propane grill when we camp. We cook for about 30-45 minutes. They are always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I used one can of potatoes and 1/4 cup of butter and baked in the oven. I thought these were great for a quick sidedish. My husband had two helpings and he never goes back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I thought this recipe was not bad. Very good and simple. Not many ingredients needed. I rated it three stars though because of the butter content. I will make it again but in moderation and maybe find a way to use less butter but keep it tasty at the same time. Thank you for this recipe. I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was pretty good, my mother in-law tried it on the grill, and my husband and I gave it a shot, it was good. I didnt use all that butter, I sliced and wrapped each potatoe individually like a baked potato and only added on about half a tablespoon of butter per potatoe. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
You can do this on a grill, on a campfire, or in the oven (375 degrees). Layer slices of potatoes w/ butter in a cast iron skillet. Bake in oven for 45 min, or grill for 35 min. Do not need to cover. The bottom and side layers will get carmelized and crusty, wonderful. My friend puts her favorite cheese of the day on top last 5 min. It melts down into potatoes and gives them a kick for cheese lovers. I like cheese, but I love butter and potatoes all alone much more. bon appetit, ciao for now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Try spicing these up a bit by adding some Concord Foods Potato Topping while they are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States