Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have made this twice now and it is so very good. I use the Kitchenaid ice cream bowl to churn the ice cream and it works out great. You do have to let the ice cream custard chill first since you do cook it, I let it chill over night and then churn it in the morning, throw it in the freezer and then it is perfect for after dinner dessert. It freezes nicely to the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It had decent flavor but the next time I make it I will be cutting back on the sugar. Also I had problems with getting the ice cream to harden. It's been In my freezer for 24 hours after using the ice cream machine. And it's only at a soft serve consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great recipe. I used less sugar as the others recommended and doubled the pecans. So good, I made another batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My daughter made us this ice cream with her ice cream maker. She used xylitol instead of sugar and only used heavy cream. It was the most delicious ice cream!!! We specifically have been working on an ice cream recipe with no sugar for the anti-fungal diet. The cream is allowed but the sugar is not. Xylitol and stevia are it. So we were so pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great base. Read bunches of these reviews, adopted several of the recommendations, and after seeing differences in other recipes came up with a pretty tasty version too. Definitely the 3/4 cup brown sugar, all cream (it is called ice CREAM still, and it really makes a difference), 2 tbsp butter (butter pecan), 2 eggs plus two yolks, and the icing on the cake that ties it all together, brings up the butter flavor nutties the nuts, and smooths out the sweet, 1/8 tsp sea salt tossed with the pecans/butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It took two times (but we finally got it right0...We had issues with the eggs hardening and ruining the first batch....We then followed the advice from PamA (tempering the eggs was the key step that the original recipe left out). It turned out great, we didn't alter the recipe and we won the contest we entered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I changed the instructions b/c they didn't make sense. You can't boil custard b/c it won't turn out. I'm going to scald the initial mixture, then cook it to 180 degrees on a candy thermometer. Also, switch the half & half and heavy cream, and, because I'm making 4 qts., I'm dividing the sugar to half brown and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sodano Vaccarello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this for the 4th of July. I doubled this for my countertop half gallon freezer and it fit perfectly. I used all half and half and added 1 teaspoon butter flavoring. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good ice cream! Followed the directions of PamA (see her review from March 02, 2009) since she seemed to be a seasoned ice cream maker and this was my first try :) It turned out really really yummy!! Will definitely make again...in a larger quantity :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the best ice cream recipe I have ever tied! I altered it a little by using non fat half and half and I blended in a half a cup of splenda in with a half of a cup of light brown sugar. I have a Cuisinart ice cream maker and it usually holds 4 cups of liquid and this recipe only calls for 2 cups, so I used 2 cups of non fat half and half and 1 cup of the heavy cream along with the 2 eggs and it came out filled almost to the top. Maybe it was adding the eggs that made the difference but even with the non fat and half splenda you couldn't tell one bit. Using an ice cream maker I didn't use add the sauteed pecans until the last 5 mins, But I did take half of the butter from the recipe for the nuts and simmered it with the milk eggs and sugar. Added the nuts at the end and, just so impressed with the recipe. Sometimes using all heavy cream and half and half without the eggs, it seems to taste good but not as creamy as this tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States