Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good taste - but the directions are odd and I didn't follow them. I make ice cream quite a lot, so what I did (based on recipes I've made in the past) was to combine the creams in a saucepan and heat them until they simmer. Meanwhile, I combined the eggs and the sugar, mixed well, added a few scoopfuls of the simmering liquid to the egg mixture to temper the eggs, and then poured the warmed egg mixture into the saucepan and cooked the mixture until it coated the back of a wooden spoon. I took it off the heat and added the vanilla and browned pecans. I cooled this ice cream base in the refrigerator a few hours and then mixed it in my ice cream maker. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was ultimately an excellent ice cream. Not only did my girlfriend and I love it, but her cat Meko licked the bowl clean. Two paws up! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I made a lot of changes that other reviewers suggested... 1) I cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup, 2) I used 4 egg yolks instead of two whole eggs, and 3) I only used heavy cream and a splash of milk. I say if you're gonna eat ice cream then do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Contrary to other reviews, this recipe is neither rich nor creamy. It's really ice milk. The brown sugar flavor is good, but I'd use a cooked egg custard base from a reliable vanilla recipe. Just substitute brown sugar for white and add the toasted pecans. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and recommend using fewer pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
OMG!! This is the abosolute best butter pecan ice cream I've ever tasted! I'm even eating it before it's had a chance to freeze solid! LOL I took a few tips from other reviewers (a) cut the sugar in half (b) used 1 cup cream & 1 cup half & half (c) added more pecans and (d) added a teaspoon of butter extract along with the vanilla! My husband even complimented me (which hardly ever happens ;-) You won't be sorry if you give this ice cream recipe a try! YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Simply delicious! I thank you for sharing this recipe, it was a hit! However, the first batch was a little too sweet, so the second batch I made used 3/4 cup of brown sugar, and it was perfect, not as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This recipe made me fall in love with butter pecan ice cream. I have not found a commercial version that is as good as this one!! I made this last year for my annual Fourth of July party and everyone RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Great recipe. My husband loved it! Only change I made was to decrease the half 'n half to 1/2 cup and increase cream to 1 1/2 cups. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This recipe was excellent. However, I agree with the other reviews that it was too sweet. I only used 3/4 of the amount of sugar and next time I would even decrease that. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! I didn't toast the pecans because I don't find it necessary. I didn't have creams so I only used whole milk. It tasted AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
reduce the sugar, add the butter, add the pecan... just use the egg yolks (plus one more) and voila... has been my fave ice cream ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States