Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good taste - but the directions are odd and I didn't follow them. I make ice cream quite a lot, so what I did (based on recipes I've made in the past) was to combine the creams in a saucepan and heat them until they simmer. Meanwhile, I combined the eggs and the sugar, mixed well, added a few scoopfuls of the simmering liquid to the egg mixture to temper the eggs, and then poured the warmed egg mixture into the saucepan and cooked the mixture until it coated the back of a wooden spoon. I took it off the heat and added the vanilla and browned pecans. I cooled this ice cream base in the refrigerator a few hours and then mixed it in my ice cream maker. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My family pronounced this ice cream recipe very good. I would definitely make it again but would increase the amounts. This recipe didn't make enough for us. I failed to brown the butter which is probably the reason my results didn't have that traditional butternut flavor, but it was still very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipe was delicious! My family loves it! I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I used 1 Cup of half & half, and 1 Cup of cream. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was a hit. My first time making ice-cream and now I want to make it all of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
OMG!! This is the abosolute best butter pecan ice cream I've ever tasted! I'm even eating it before it's had a chance to freeze solid! LOL I took a few tips from other reviewers (a) cut the sugar in half (b) used 1 cup cream & 1 cup half & half (c) added more pecans and (d) added a teaspoon of butter extract along with the vanilla! My husband even complimented me (which hardly ever happens ;-) You won't be sorry if you give this ice cream recipe a try! YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I can't praise this recipe enough!! I must say that I have made this ice cream 4 or 5 times during the summer for the last 2 years, and everyone goes CRAZY for it!!!! It is very sweet and creamy and everyone says it is the BEST butter pecan ice cream they have ever tasted.....every time we have an 'ice cream social' people plead for me to make this!!!! Try it, you will LOVE it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
VERY VERY GOOD,THE ONLY BUTTER PECAN ICE CREAM I WILL ONLY USE! THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR RECIPE,GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR LOVE ONE'S....TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Very Good Ice Cream. I Took Everybodys Advice And Ony Used 3/4 Of A Cup Of Sugar And subtracted 1/2 A cup Of Half And Half And Replaced It With Heavy Wipping Cream. I Will Definately Make It Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marysvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I made it for an ice cream contest, and I got first place in the contest. I also made the Six 3's ice cream and got second place they are both very good ice creams. I would make them both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My first time making homemade ice cream so I picked this recipe because it's my favorite flavor - This was good, but I made some changes based on the reviews - I used 1/2 the brown sugar, and one egg plus one egg yolk. And since I like pecans I doubled the nuts. I actually found the ice cream is not sweet enough with 1/2 cup of sugar, so next time I will use 3/4 cup. I did add 1 tbsp of brown sugar to the nuts as they were toasting and I think that saved the batch for me by adding a little extra sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Delicious! I doubled the recipe, and reduced the brown sugar to 1.5 c, not 2. I also used 2 c. heavy cream and 2 c. 1/2 n 1/2, that's just what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States