Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Way too sweet. My husband had one serving and told me to dump the rest. I would make again with half the amount of sugar because it had a good consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I used 1/2 cup pecans, 1 tbsp butter, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1.5 cups half-and-half, 1 cups skim, and 1 tsp vanilla. The brown sugar gave it a great color and good flavor...it actually did taste somewhat like butter pecan! I would recomment NOT using skim milk like I did, unless you like your ice cream icy. But the sugar can def. be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
AWESOME! I followed the directions exactly using light brown sugar; but, I made a couple of changes with the ingredients. I replaced the pecans with almonds and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have half and half so I used 1 1/4 cups of heavy cream and 1/4 cup of 2% milk. (I also wanted to be sure it was creamy.) This ice cream can go right to the head of the class. It is AWESOME! Thank you SUSAN LONG for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This ice cream was amazing! Like other reviewers, I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup...it was perfectly sweet that way. I didn't have any half and half in the house either...I combined a cup of whole milk and a cup of heavy cream. I took 1/2 a cup of this and used it in place of the cream that is used later in the recipe. I also added a few extra pecans, because they are so yummy! To make them more like the kind in the store, I stirred some extra salt into the melted butter. Yum! Other than that, I pretty much made it exactly as written, except that I cooled the cream mixture down before pouring it into the ice cream maker, and didn't stir in the pecans until the end, because they get stuck in the churn. All in all, this is an excellent, creamy ice cream that has a wonderful, crunchy, sweet, buttery and nutty flavor...I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was ultimately an excellent ice cream. Not only did my girlfriend and I love it, but her cat Meko licked the bowl clean. Two paws up! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I made a lot of changes that other reviewers suggested... 1) I cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup, 2) I used 4 egg yolks instead of two whole eggs, and 3) I only used heavy cream and a splash of milk. I say if you're gonna eat ice cream then do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Really good! I was given an ice cream machine this summer and have tried so many recipes. This is one of the few keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The flavor of this ice cream is excellent! I took the advise of some other users and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4. I was unsure how long to cook the pecans so they came out a little soft. Next time I'll cook them longer and it'll be perfect. A hit with everyone who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, California, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This ice cream was so good! I made 4 different types of homemade ice cream and this went fast and first. I would NOT change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
not very good, sorry! I will stick to toasting my pecans in the oven and glazing them then adding to my vanilla icecream during processing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was incredible!It stays creamy, and doesnt'get all hard like a lot of homemade ice creams. The flavor is incredible. None of us ever liked butter pecan before, but I keep getting requests for it now!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States