Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This ice cream was amazing! Like other reviewers, I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup...it was perfectly sweet that way. I didn't have any half and half in the house either...I combined a cup of whole milk and a cup of heavy cream. I took 1/2 a cup of this and used it in place of the cream that is used later in the recipe. I also added a few extra pecans, because they are so yummy! To make them more like the kind in the store, I stirred some extra salt into the melted butter. Yum! Other than that, I pretty much made it exactly as written, except that I cooled the cream mixture down before pouring it into the ice cream maker, and didn't stir in the pecans until the end, because they get stuck in the churn. All in all, this is an excellent, creamy ice cream that has a wonderful, crunchy, sweet, buttery and nutty flavor...I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was ultimately an excellent ice cream. Not only did my girlfriend and I love it, but her cat Meko licked the bowl clean. Two paws up! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I made a lot of changes that other reviewers suggested... 1) I cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup, 2) I used 4 egg yolks instead of two whole eggs, and 3) I only used heavy cream and a splash of milk. I say if you're gonna eat ice cream then do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Really good! I was given an ice cream machine this summer and have tried so many recipes. This is one of the few keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The flavor of this ice cream is excellent! I took the advise of some other users and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4. I was unsure how long to cook the pecans so they came out a little soft. Next time I'll cook them longer and it'll be perfect. A hit with everyone who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, California, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This ice cream was so good! I made 4 different types of homemade ice cream and this went fast and first. I would NOT change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
not very good, sorry! I will stick to toasting my pecans in the oven and glazing them then adding to my vanilla icecream during processing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was incredible!It stays creamy, and doesnt'get all hard like a lot of homemade ice creams. The flavor is incredible. None of us ever liked butter pecan before, but I keep getting requests for it now!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Creamy and delicious. I used the full amount of sugar. I did use all heavy cream, and I used four egg yolks instead of the whole eggs. It was a definite make again recipe. It doesn't taste like store brand butter pecan, and the color is different because of the brown sugar. What a treat. Made it for 4th of July and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this the first time for company and they raved over it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I thought that the cooking process with the eggs should be changed, there were scrambled eggs in it! I strained it though because I know this would happen. Very good ice cream though. Instead of pecans, I chopped up a toffee bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States