Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe was just TOO GOOD FOR WORDS. The result is deliciously creamy and sweet (but not overly so). I substituted 1/3 of the brown sugar with real maple syrup for extra flavor. Definitely will do this one again. Thx for this great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was great! I made it for the 4th of July and our friends loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it paid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is my husband's favorite flavor ice cream, so he was very pleased I made this from scratch rather than store-bought! "It's a keeper!", he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe was delicious! It took a while for it to simmer and finally I just turned the heat up to a little above medium and it began to work. I had never tried a butter pecan ice cream before and this one was great! Even better the next day when it had firmed up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Love this ice cream! Would have given 5 stars but I also had to modify this a bit. I used 3/4 c sugar, and will most likely use 1/2 c next time. Also, I didn't use these directions. Insted, I took a more traditional rout and heated the creams, tempered the egg and sugar mixture, and then combined the 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Yum is the best description. Don't ever want to buy Butter Pecan Ice cream again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Way too sweet. My husband had one serving and told me to dump the rest. I would make again with half the amount of sugar because it had a good consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I used 1/2 cup pecans, 1 tbsp butter, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1.5 cups half-and-half, 1 cups skim, and 1 tsp vanilla. The brown sugar gave it a great color and good flavor...it actually did taste somewhat like butter pecan! I would recomment NOT using skim milk like I did, unless you like your ice cream icy. But the sugar can def. be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
AWESOME! I followed the directions exactly using light brown sugar; but, I made a couple of changes with the ingredients. I replaced the pecans with almonds and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't have half and half so I used 1 1/4 cups of heavy cream and 1/4 cup of 2% milk. (I also wanted to be sure it was creamy.) This ice cream can go right to the head of the class. It is AWESOME! Thank you SUSAN LONG for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This ice cream was amazing! Like other reviewers, I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup...it was perfectly sweet that way. I didn't have any half and half in the house either...I combined a cup of whole milk and a cup of heavy cream. I took 1/2 a cup of this and used it in place of the cream that is used later in the recipe. I also added a few extra pecans, because they are so yummy! To make them more like the kind in the store, I stirred some extra salt into the melted butter. Yum! Other than that, I pretty much made it exactly as written, except that I cooled the cream mixture down before pouring it into the ice cream maker, and didn't stir in the pecans until the end, because they get stuck in the churn. All in all, this is an excellent, creamy ice cream that has a wonderful, crunchy, sweet, buttery and nutty flavor...I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States