Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe, with the exception of using less sugar after reading the reviews. It is perfect and I did not find it necessary to temper the eggs or let the mixture cool before adding to my ice cream maker. Great and easy recipe for delicious ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I don't know what went wrong...but I tried this twice, and both times wound up with scrambled eggs (the second time I tried tempering the eggs first)...I have made several ice cream recipes from allrecipes.com - this is the first one that made something that didn't even resemble ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVORYCASSIOPEIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This ice cream was so good. We made this while my mom was visiting because she loves just about anything with pecans. This was creamy and delicious. I did make one minor change and omitted the butter with the pecans. I just lightly toasted the pecans in the oven. This seemed to work just fine, as everyone loved the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time following the directions entirely, and the second with a few slight moderations. As is, the recipe isn't creamy or rich enough for my liking, and the directions as written may result in an unpleasant texture for one who isn't aware of the importance of tempering eggs. Make sure to temper your eggs first (as directed by PamA), and stir constantly, rather than occassionally, until the mixture is smooth and slightly thickened. I think the amount of pecans used in this recipe is spot on, as well as the amount of brown sugar, but the ice cream is just as good if slightly reduced (all depends on how much of a sweet tooth you have). The only ingredient changes I do suggest making- unless you prefer the taste of lowfat ice cream- is substituting heavy cream for the half-and-half, and substituting 1/2 C. milk (or half-and-half) for the 1/2 C. heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Incredible! I followed the ingredients from the recipe and the instructions from Pam A's review. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Smooth and creamy and incredibly delicious. I made candied pecans and used them instead of regular pecans. yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idle Hands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was good. Made it for the 4th. and everyone seemed to like it. Doesn't make much so, if you you have a two quart ice cream maker double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Awesome! The only change I made was to use liquid egg equivalent to 2 eggs, mixed everything together without cooking and put it into my ice cream maker. Husband said it's the best he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I noticed the comment about using only egg yolks but if you follow the usual method of putting some of the hot mixture into the egg and stir together, it can be added to the hot mixture with no problem. I have found that pouring the mixture through a sieve makes it creamy. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar after reading the other comments and it was great. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was very excited to try this recipe, as I love butter pecan, but there are a few things that this recipe doesn't tell you that you definitely need to know. First of all, use egg yolk only. If you mix the whole egg into the recipe, and heat it, the egg white will curdle after scalding leaving you with a chunky mixture that doesn't look appetizing. Also, you need to cool the recipe before adding it to the ice cream maker for at least 1-2 hours. Adding a hot mixture to an ice cream maker is not a good idea. I am going to let my mixture cool overnight and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States