Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Made just as the recipe stated and is very smooth, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
We made this for a birthday party and everyone raved about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a good recipe. I am frequently concerned about messing up ice cream but really, the recipes are realitivley easy to resurect. When some egg got cooked in my mixture I just strained the egg out (there wasn't much cooked strans). I put some more pecans. I think an overflowing half cup is good. Let the mixture cool, avoid cooking the egg and when cooled put the mixture in the machine. It tastes rich, creamy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is not the way to make an excellent custard, and the p ecans should not go in at the beginning; wait until the final minute. Poor directions, so-so flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe, with the exception of using less sugar after reading the reviews. It is perfect and I did not find it necessary to temper the eggs or let the mixture cool before adding to my ice cream maker. Great and easy recipe for delicious ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I don't know what went wrong...but I tried this twice, and both times wound up with scrambled eggs (the second time I tried tempering the eggs first)...I have made several ice cream recipes from allrecipes.com - this is the first one that made something that didn't even resemble ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVORYCASSIOPEIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This ice cream was so good. We made this while my mom was visiting because she loves just about anything with pecans. This was creamy and delicious. I did make one minor change and omitted the butter with the pecans. I just lightly toasted the pecans in the oven. This seemed to work just fine, as everyone loved the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time following the directions entirely, and the second with a few slight moderations. As is, the recipe isn't creamy or rich enough for my liking, and the directions as written may result in an unpleasant texture for one who isn't aware of the importance of tempering eggs. Make sure to temper your eggs first (as directed by PamA), and stir constantly, rather than occassionally, until the mixture is smooth and slightly thickened. I think the amount of pecans used in this recipe is spot on, as well as the amount of brown sugar, but the ice cream is just as good if slightly reduced (all depends on how much of a sweet tooth you have). The only ingredient changes I do suggest making- unless you prefer the taste of lowfat ice cream- is substituting heavy cream for the half-and-half, and substituting 1/2 C. milk (or half-and-half) for the 1/2 C. heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Incredible! I followed the ingredients from the recipe and the instructions from Pam A's review. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States