Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
It curdled on the stove and would not even go thru a sieve. Does anyone know what happened? Help! I really want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I thought this ice cream was wonderful. Because we don’t like our desserts too sweet, next time I would cut back the brown sugar just a tad. However, having said that, it was still very good. I combined the beaten eggs and light cream very well before adding it to the saucepan. I found the best results were cooking the mixture at a low temperature, and stirring constantly. When the mixture is thickened, I poured it into a mixing bowl, adding the pecans, heavy cream and vanilla extract. Because the mixture is thick, the pecans will remain suspended in the mixture so you don’t have to add them at the very end of the ice cream maker cycle as you usually do. The bowl then went into the refrigerator. I only poured it into my ice cream maker when the mixture was cold. The ice cream was creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made as written and wouldn't change a thing. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very good! It was super creamy. Next time I'll probably cut some of the cream but overall it was soooo delicious! I also made it with twice the pecans! That's the business right there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madi Rawlins

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Made just as the recipe stated and is very smooth, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
We made this for a birthday party and everyone raved about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a good recipe. I am frequently concerned about messing up ice cream but really, the recipes are realitivley easy to resurect. When some egg got cooked in my mixture I just strained the egg out (there wasn't much cooked strans). I put some more pecans. I think an overflowing half cup is good. Let the mixture cool, avoid cooking the egg and when cooled put the mixture in the machine. It tastes rich, creamy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is not the way to make an excellent custard, and the p ecans should not go in at the beginning; wait until the final minute. Poor directions, so-so flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States