Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I changed the instructions b/c they didn't make sense. You can't boil custard b/c it won't turn out. I'm going to scald the initial mixture, then cook it to 180 degrees on a candy thermometer. Also, switch the half & half and heavy cream, and, because I'm making 4 qts., I'm dividing the sugar to half brown and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sodano Vaccarello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this for the 4th of July. I doubled this for my countertop half gallon freezer and it fit perfectly. I used all half and half and added 1 teaspoon butter flavoring. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good ice cream! Followed the directions of PamA (see her review from March 02, 2009) since she seemed to be a seasoned ice cream maker and this was my first try :) It turned out really really yummy!! Will definitely make again...in a larger quantity :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the best ice cream recipe I have ever tied! I altered it a little by using non fat half and half and I blended in a half a cup of splenda in with a half of a cup of light brown sugar. I have a Cuisinart ice cream maker and it usually holds 4 cups of liquid and this recipe only calls for 2 cups, so I used 2 cups of non fat half and half and 1 cup of the heavy cream along with the 2 eggs and it came out filled almost to the top. Maybe it was adding the eggs that made the difference but even with the non fat and half splenda you couldn't tell one bit. Using an ice cream maker I didn't use add the sauteed pecans until the last 5 mins, But I did take half of the butter from the recipe for the nuts and simmered it with the milk eggs and sugar. Added the nuts at the end and, just so impressed with the recipe. Sometimes using all heavy cream and half and half without the eggs, it seems to taste good but not as creamy as this tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious, but a little too sweet for my liking. Will make again, decreasing sugar to 3/4 cup. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the best recipe for butter pecan ice cream that I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
awsome icecream it is a soft icecream it is great my poor kitchenaid mixer has not had a break since I got it and my Hubby has put on some pounds LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I will make again!! Plan to decrease sugar by half cup as it was quite sweet. Also thought a bit eggy so plan want to try smaller size eggs ( we have farm fresh jumbo ones)Over all a promising much appreciated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very good recipe. Took some advice from other reviewers and used 3/4 c brown sugar, 1 c half and half, 1 c heavy cream and added a tsp of butter extract. Best butter pecan ice cream I have ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
It curdled on the stove and would not even go thru a sieve. Does anyone know what happened? Help! I really want to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States