Butter Pecan Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Wow this was good! I cut the sugar in half as others suggested, but my sugar-buzz-loving husband stated he would have liked it a little sweeter. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I made this as my sister was making Creme Caramel out of a box and she was asking me what I thought Creme Caramel was made out of so she could make it homemade it turns out this recipe would turn out perfectly as a custard I liked it better as a warm custard than cold ice cream. Too sweet and not the usual taste of butter pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
Very good texture and flavor. The ideal quantity for a small ice cream freezer. As others have stated, this recipe is too sweet. Make adjustments to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
My husband thought this was great, but I thought it was missing something. I salted the pecans in the skillet with the butter, because I love salty in sweet, but maybe not enough butter flavor. Maybe the pecans needed to be toasted a little more? I will keep trying, because we love Butter Pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
excellent taste and well worth the extra few minutes required to cook the mixture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
The best homeade Ice Cream I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Contrary to other reviews, this recipe is neither rich nor creamy. It's really ice milk. The brown sugar flavor is good, but I'd use a cooked egg custard base from a reliable vanilla recipe. Just substitute brown sugar for white and add the toasted pecans. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and recommend using fewer pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This recipe was excellent. However, I agree with the other reviews that it was too sweet. I only used 3/4 of the amount of sugar and next time I would even decrease that. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Really, really rich but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Simply delicious! I thank you for sharing this recipe, it was a hit! However, the first batch was a little too sweet, so the second batch I made used 3/4 cup of brown sugar, and it was perfect, not as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States