Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I just finished baking & tasting the Butter Pecan Bars. I changed the recipe due to the ingredients I had on hand. I used self-rising flour instead of all-purpose and I added 3/4 c. choc. chips to the mix. I made sure the sugars and butter were creamed to a fluffy light color. The final outcome was terrific. I can visually see the inside is soft and the outside is chewy. I cooked for 40 min. in a 350 oven. I had some pecans I wanted to use up and I am glad I found this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Too good. I made these for a tough crowd-we have several wonderful amateur cooks and one or two culinary professionals. Well, they all hovered over this plate of pecan bars and asked for the recipe. Be sure and let the recipe cool before cutting into bars-less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I made these for a cookout so I decided to go ahead and double the batch and cooked in a 9 1/2 by 13 1/2 pan and cooked for 50 minutes and it could have cooked for another 5-7 minutes to be perfect. I even accidentally put in a cup of walnuts and a cup of pecans (oops, I thought the bag I opened was pecans)and everyone still loved them not even noticing the difference. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
So yummy! These bars took a lot of patience and tinkering with the timing. On my second try I baked for 60 minutes at 300 degrees and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I'm not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly. The bars were way too thick and never got completely done, even after cooking them 10+ extra minutes. The recipe sounded great and I really wanted the bars to work out, so I made a second batch and they turned out the same as the first batch. They definitely need to be in a bigger pan than 8x8. I was preparing the bars to take to a party. Even though I wasn't happy with the results, I took them anyway. They didn't turn out pretty, so it was hard to get people to try them. Those that did try them, said they liked them, but there were a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
These were really quick and easy!!!! Didn't even pull out the mixer,mixed it all by hand.I did use a larger pan,which probably made them not as gooey,but they were very good and everyone loved them.As we have 16 pecan trees these will be a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These are good. I wanted them to be more chewy. I cut the flour down by a 1/4 cup. Added a cup of pecans. Bake them in a 300 oven for 50 mins, in a 9 x 13 pan. I liked them much better this way. Thinner and more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This was absolutely wonderful! It was easy to make, tastes delicious and even my seven year old liked it. I used butter flavored crisco instead of butter and it turned out wonderfully. I'll make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Unfortunately, mine were not gooey as i had hoped for, but nevertheless this was a great recipe and they were still chewy. i cut down the white sugar to 1/2 cup and added some choc. chips and walnuts and the flavor was awesome. i think next time i will only bake for 35 min. maybe that will make it more gooey will definitely make again..thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Mine was a mess! I baked it for about 50 minutes. The edges were pulling away and the top was brown. However, all but the perimeter was a raw mess. I had to throw the whole thing away! I know others loved it, so I reviewed the recipe to see if I had done anything wrong. I followed the recipe to a tee. Big Disapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States