Butter Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is directed at Jaz's review. Butter mochi is not the traditional Japanese mochi that you see in "puck" form, nor is it like Chichi Dango manju. Butter mochi is of Hawaiian derivation and shouldn't be viewed as the same type of "mochi" that you may have had with your Japanese friends. It is in its nature to be more "cake"ish and is meant to be eaten in squares like brownies or lemon squares. So, while you are correct that this is not "mochi", it IS Butter Mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
First experience with mochi. What a treat. Everyone I offered it to loved it. My husband doesn't like coconut, but he couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I just made this the other night, it was with my fathers approval :) This was easy and good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very delicious! This was the first time I made mochi and it turned out well, though there was some buttery spots on the top when it was done (not sure why the butter seperated out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Yes people, this is not the normal Japanese mochi, it's butter mochi and I love it! This is a great recipe. I left out the coconut milk cause I didn't have any and used 3 cups whole milk instead and it came out really good and chewy. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Pulled it out at 56 minutes, put foil on top and cut it about 7 hours later (baked late and went to bed). I was worried it would be a bit under cooked in the middle but hoped it would set while cooling and it did. It was perfect. tasted just like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Didn't have any coconut extract so not as flavorful. Really easy and delicious. More mochi cake than mochi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I halved the recipe but turned out it is TOOOOOO swee And one question, i don't understand why it is so mushy and could not formed even after I put it in refrigerator for 2h..should I bake longer/shorter or bake with higher/lower temperature??? Anyone could help?? Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Butter Mochi...This is a good recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a very good recipe....but to make it into the mochi I remebered as a child in a Hawaii, I had to tweak it just a tiny bit. Instead of using milk, I had to substitute it with evaporated milk and I also omitted the coconut extract...WARNING! Baking it for 1 hour is too long and turns into a cake consistency, 50 minutes is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States