Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Followed recipe to a 'T' and was not tasty enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a decent recipe, but it isn't as flavorful as I expected. Next, time I will use chicken broth instead of water and maybe add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
LOOVED i! been looking for a butter curry recipie that wasnt a huge pain in the butt and I found it! delicious and simple. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Simply delicious. I made this two Sundays ago and my family, especially my husband, just loved it. When my husband left work today he bought some lamb so that I prepare the same dish on Easter Friday. It's the first time he has ever asked that I prepare a dish again. He is a very good cook himself so the lamb must have been special. I don't like ginger while he does not like honey, so I skipped those. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It's a keeper! Double the spices as others suggested. Can also use more tomatoe paste. Instead of creme fraiche used some milk and greek yogurt. came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
this is a great easy to make recipe, doubled the spices amount and add some salt to make it wonderful. all in all fantastic. cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought this was just ok ... doubled the sauce, quadrupled the garam masala, and used chicken stock instead of water. Still thought it was bland though and could use a little more kick. It gets points for ease and quickness though ... I'll probably make again, but play with it. Golden raisins could be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was great. Have made with lamb and chicken... actually prefered the chicken. Also baked a light fish in the 'gravy' and was fantastic (tried talapia).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was delicious! My husband was practically licking the pan it was made in after his 3 servings!!! I used beef instead of lamb and I dont like my food very spicy--so I kept the original amounts of seasonings but you could always add more to your liking. I could not find creme fraiche, so I just substiuted heavy whipping cream---it worked well and the honey is a must! YUMMY YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG! This is so good, but only after adding additional seasoning. I prepared it as directed in the recipe using cubed chicken thighs and tasted it half way through. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor, at least not as robust as what we get at our local Indian restaurant. So, I added an additional 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t. chili powder and 1 T. tomato paste. Made all the difference! Also, I couldn't find creme fraiche so I substituted 1/4 c. cream and 1/4 c. sour cream. If you like Indian food, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States