Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was a hit tonight! I did stray from the original recipe though. Here are my changes: I used chicken instead of lamb; canola oil instead of butter; 3/4 to 1 tsp. turmeric, ground ginger (since i didn't have fresh ginger to grate), and minced garlic; NSA tomato sauce instead of tomato paste; 1% milk instead of the creme fraiche; and completely forgot about the honey! After all those changes the recipe still turned out fantastic! When I have all the ingredients I would love to try this recipe again (especially with lamb!) as I am sure it is even more delicious! As it turned out, though, I will definitely make it again with my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by sara
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good flavour, was a nice meal with rice and peas.Simple & delicious. This is a simple, easy recipe with great flavor! Even my picky husband really liked it.I added an extra couple of potatoes. my kids loved this easy meal.it wasnt to spicey or hot. More recipies please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was great. Have made with lamb and chicken... actually prefered the chicken. Also baked a light fish in the 'gravy' and was fantastic (tried talapia).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
We liked this a lot. It's a great dish because it has good flavor in minimal time, and would work with any meat. I will definitely make this again. It tasted great in the pot, but seemed a little bland when served over rice, so for our tastes we will triple the spices (I already doubled them). I made this on a whim and had to sub plain yogurt for the creme fraiche and skip the cilantro, so I can't wait to try it as the author intended. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a very VERY good recipe. My husband, an EXCELLENT cook and very dedicated to the task really liked it. Woo Hoo for me!!!! This was a winner. A new dress or surprise coming up maybe?????????..... NOT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I can't imagine why this recipe doesn't have more positive ratings!!! Firstly my local grocery store didn't have garam masala so I made my own : 2 cinnamon sticks 3 dried bay leaves 3 tbsp cumin seeds 2 tbsp coriander seeds 4 cardamom pods, crushed 1 tbsp cloves 1 tsp black peppercorns 1 tbsp ground mace Dry roast the ingredients, let cool and grind to a fine powder(you can use spice mill or coffee grinder). Store in the pantry for up to 1 month and in the refrigerator for up to 3 months. I also didn't have any creme fraiche so I used heavy whipping cream and one word for this : YUMMY!!!My boyfriend and I could not get enough of this!! Please try this you will not regret it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I've made it twice so far - first time with pork, second time with chicken - and loved it! Next time I make it with pork, I'll reduce the cooking time, since the pork turned out a little dry - but the sauce made up for it, no worries. The chicken turned out perfect - I can't wait to make it with lamb! I also doubled the amount of tomato paste. Instead of water and creme fresh I only used one glass of 1% fat milk. The taste is just as great! I also used more of the spices for taste and added about one teaspoon coriander powder. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It's a keeper! Double the spices as others suggested. Can also use more tomatoe paste. Instead of creme fraiche used some milk and greek yogurt. came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG! This is so good, but only after adding additional seasoning. I prepared it as directed in the recipe using cubed chicken thighs and tasted it half way through. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor, at least not as robust as what we get at our local Indian restaurant. So, I added an additional 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t. chili powder and 1 T. tomato paste. Made all the difference! Also, I couldn't find creme fraiche so I substituted 1/4 c. cream and 1/4 c. sour cream. If you like Indian food, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was delicious! My husband was practically licking the pan it was made in after his 3 servings!!! I used beef instead of lamb and I dont like my food very spicy--so I kept the original amounts of seasonings but you could always add more to your liking. I could not find creme fraiche, so I just substiuted heavy whipping cream---it worked well and the honey is a must! YUMMY YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States