Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
this is a great easy to make recipe, doubled the spices amount and add some salt to make it wonderful. all in all fantastic. cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought this was just ok ... doubled the sauce, quadrupled the garam masala, and used chicken stock instead of water. Still thought it was bland though and could use a little more kick. It gets points for ease and quickness though ... I'll probably make again, but play with it. Golden raisins could be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was great. Have made with lamb and chicken... actually prefered the chicken. Also baked a light fish in the 'gravy' and was fantastic (tried talapia).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was delicious! My husband was practically licking the pan it was made in after his 3 servings!!! I used beef instead of lamb and I dont like my food very spicy--so I kept the original amounts of seasonings but you could always add more to your liking. I could not find creme fraiche, so I just substiuted heavy whipping cream---it worked well and the honey is a must! YUMMY YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOCHNESS350

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
OMG! This is so good, but only after adding additional seasoning. I prepared it as directed in the recipe using cubed chicken thighs and tasted it half way through. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor, at least not as robust as what we get at our local Indian restaurant. So, I added an additional 1/2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t. chili powder and 1 T. tomato paste. Made all the difference! Also, I couldn't find creme fraiche so I substituted 1/4 c. cream and 1/4 c. sour cream. If you like Indian food, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I've made it twice so far - first time with pork, second time with chicken - and loved it! Next time I make it with pork, I'll reduce the cooking time, since the pork turned out a little dry - but the sauce made up for it, no worries. The chicken turned out perfect - I can't wait to make it with lamb! I also doubled the amount of tomato paste. Instead of water and creme fresh I only used one glass of 1% fat milk. The taste is just as great! I also used more of the spices for taste and added about one teaspoon coriander powder. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was good, but not outanding. I would recommend doubling the spices for sure. I did not have creme fraiche, so I used 1/4c. sour cream and 1/4 C half & half instead. After browing the lamb, I drained off all but 2T of the fat, but then as it cooked, there wasn't enough liquid. I added more cream to compensate. After tasting about 1/2 way through, I added salt, another Tbsp of tomato paste. It definitely improved after adding the honey, cream & cilantro to finish. Don't leave any of those out. The end product was tasty, but I'll tweak it with add'l spice next time and maybe use chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is a good recipe--and with a few changes it is amazing. I like a little more sauce with a little more flavor, so I doubled everything except the meat and garam masala. Keep the meat quantity as it is and quadruple the garam masala (2 tsp. total). With those tweaks, this recipe was very much like the curries I used to eat in England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very good. Flavors were nice, mild, and a good use of lamb when its on sale. It was a bit more trouble than I'd prefer to cube the lamb from the bone in shoulder peice so I'll be looking for a boneless option next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a very VERY good recipe. My husband, an EXCELLENT cook and very dedicated to the task really liked it. Woo Hoo for me!!!! This was a winner. A new dress or surprise coming up maybe?????????..... NOT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States