Butter Lamb Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I hate to rate recipes that I made changes on, but the changes were made out of necessity and I know the original recipe would be very good. I used beef because 2lbs of lamb is expensive. I didn't have garam masala, so I used curry because I figured it would work in this dish. The sauce was awesome and you could add any veggie you'd want in it. I did add a cornstarch mixture to give it a more gravy like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I don't eat red meat but cooked this for my husband and brother in law. He enjoyed it and felt it was very flavorful. For me, I had to cook this for way longer than 20min. My dish was very watery and looked nothing like the picture. I ended up cooking for about an hour or so and added a bit of flour to thicken up the gravy. As per the other recommendations, I also went a bit heavy handed on the salt and other spices. there was lots of flavor in the dish. Will make again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is sensational. Flavour was so good. I thought there would be leftovers, but I was wrong! Everyone cleaned their plate and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Added potatoes as well and went less on the spicy so my daughter can eat it but it was still tasty first time cooking lamb besides grilling this was good. And pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I normally make first-time recipes exactly per the instructions, but after reading several reviews I decided to play with the spice amounts a bit. I ended up using 4x the garam masala just to coat the lamb and doubled all the other spices that went into the dish as well as doubling the liquids for added gravy. I thought it turned out pretty decent, but still just a bit bland. I served it over basmati rice and had a side of garlic naan from my local ethnic grocer. I would probably make it again if lamb weren't so expensive ($10/lb) and I hadn't already found a similar chicken recipe. Overall, it was still pretty good and easy to make. Definitely worth a try, just make sure you add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The blend of flavors in this dish is quite good. And, as others have said, it needs more. I more than tripled the seasonings and found that to be more suited to our tastes. The speed and ease with which the dish comes together make it a good choice for a quicker meal, particularly if you cut and season the meat and toss it into a baggie in the morning and can just dump it into the skillet in the evening. For that reason, with the seasoning adjustments, its a good recipe to have in your files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
SO glad to have found this recipe. My family fell in love with this recipe outside our house, now I can make it home for them! :-) If you don't have creme fraiche...yoghurt or sour cream will work perfectly fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMIMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Most pleasant. Quick and easy to prepare. I had stewing lamb meat and was looking for something different. I saw this one, and just let it simmer longer for the meat to become tender. I used chillies instead of powder. I was extremely wary of the amount of honey. For my taste, I found 1/2 tbsp. quite enough. But that is like salt and pepper - a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
We doubled the spices specified (enough for 12 people!). We (the two of us) though it had just the right amount of spice and gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I am one who likes herbs and spices and my husband is more of a plain eating kinda guy; however after I made this meal, HE was the one who came up to me and said it was bland and can I add more spices to it. I did so to the remaining gravy, but I couldn't make it better. While this dish has a good idea, it is VERY bland. Overall, I was disappointed. I am sure it could be improved with a lot more spice to it.(I even doubled all the spices and that didn't work)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States