Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Wonderful icing! I used only 1 tsp vanilla and refrigerated the cookies for 1 hour, hardening the icing to perfection. I gave the cookies half an hr to thaw after taking out of the fridge so they were soft when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
SO GOOD! I love this. It tastes wonderful. the butter does magic. Though add food coloring, comes out brown without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My little ones and I made this recipe and I have to say...wish I would have read the reviews. Way, way, way too much Vanilla. The consistency was way too wet and the vanilla was overpowering. I bet with half the vanilla it would work. Maybe I'll try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Will definitely use again. I doubled the recipe and then divided up to dye different colors, and it stays on the cookies quite well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N&J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was great! I did change the vanilla to just 1 tsp. The frosting hardened so that I could stack cookies but it also stayed soft inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Used this icing on my homemade Christmas Cookies...it was great!! So far it is the closest thing I have found that resembles what my Mom used on her cookies when she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The flavour was good with one teaspoon of vanilla. I did not find that it dried hard enough for what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I had to tweak a few things. I followed other reviewers advice and only put in 1 teaspoon of vanilla, but because of that there wasn't enough moisture for the frosting. When I added 1 tbsp of milk, it just turned into a sugar dough ball. So I added more like 3-4 tbsp of milk, and it turned out great. Taste was delicious, just need some more moisture. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I added almond instead of vanilla. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
With 1tsp of vanilla, this icing was delicious. I added an additional tbsp of milk, which made an icing ideal for finer piping work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States