Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Will definitely use again. I doubled the recipe and then divided up to dye different colors, and it stays on the cookies quite well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N&J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was great! I did change the vanilla to just 1 tsp. The frosting hardened so that I could stack cookies but it also stayed soft inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Used this icing on my homemade Christmas Cookies...it was great!! So far it is the closest thing I have found that resembles what my Mom used on her cookies when she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The flavour was good with one teaspoon of vanilla. I did not find that it dried hard enough for what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I had to tweak a few things. I followed other reviewers advice and only put in 1 teaspoon of vanilla, but because of that there wasn't enough moisture for the frosting. When I added 1 tbsp of milk, it just turned into a sugar dough ball. So I added more like 3-4 tbsp of milk, and it turned out great. Taste was delicious, just need some more moisture. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I added almond instead of vanilla. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
With 1tsp of vanilla, this icing was delicious. I added an additional tbsp of milk, which made an icing ideal for finer piping work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
In the end I prefer just powder sugar w/vanilla and milk added as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This will not harden! Otherwise, the recipe is great! I used water instead of milk (since I didn't have any) and it was still fine, nice and smooth with an electric mixer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
BEWARE of the VANILLA!! I think 1TBSP is not accurate, had to be a misprint..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States