Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great icing! I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (after reading other reviews). I also used a few drops of milk at a time until the icing reached the consistancy I wanted. This technique will give you greater control of the texture and thickness. Note: real vanilla may cost a little bit more, but is worth it compared to cheap imitation vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is 5 star but only with 1 TEASPOON of vanilla, as many others have said. Perfect on a soft sugar cookie cutout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNBAD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe did not work for me... It didnt even turn into icing... It was a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassypriscilla
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Eliminate the vanilla if you want white icing. If you want to color the icing black, make a chocolate icing by adding 1-T of baking cocoa with the powdered sugar. This made for a pretty, glossy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassypriscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The frosting came out delicious! I did add a little bit more milk to thin out frosting. What's nice is that it made a small batch so I didn't waste a bunch of leftover frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I did cut the vanilla in half after reading the other reviews and it worked great. I also had to add a little extra milk to get the texture just right. Excellent icing, really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Most of the other icing recipes I saw called for eggs and light corn syrup. I liked that this one didn't need either. However, I think this recipe may have called for too much sugar. When I made it, the texture just wasn't right, and I couldn't taste anything but the sugar. The other measurements seemed right and I think I'll try with less sugar. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I love this recipe but when I made it I think there was a little bit to much sugar so it was kind of grainy. But every thing was good i had it on the best sugar cookies111 well thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used this icing with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" recipe submitted by Jill Saunders. It was a perfect combination! They looked beautiful, tasted great and everyone thought they were from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Delicious! I used the full amount of high quality vanilla and everyone seemed to like it. I didn't like the brown color however. It made it tough to get the colors I wanted with my food coloring. I may use clear vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States