Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Perfect! Great flavor, easy to work with, and dried hard. Just what I needed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Used this on heart shaped sugar cookies. I did use only a teaspoon of the vanilla. I did not experience any trouble coloring the icing.....made light pink. I did have to add a couple more tablespoons of milk to get it to the consistency I wanted. It is very sweet, but isn't it supposed to be????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Really great tasting recipe! If you want a soft icing, this is the one to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Odessa Toma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This icing was great for my Christmas sugar cookies. A full Tbsp of vanilla seemed like too much IMO, so I reduced it to about 1 1/2 tsp. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Made it as the recipe directs. Love it! Easy, creamy, delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just tried this. I liked it--you can adjust the consistancy to the kind of decorating you're doing, it's got good flavor (I wonder if the 1 Tablespoon is a misprint; I used 1 teaspoon), and it gets just the right amount of hardness on top so the cookies don't stick together. I think if you're doing intricate artwork on a cookie, you might want a harder icing, but for just plain GOOD EATIN', this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great icing! I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (after reading other reviews). I also used a few drops of milk at a time until the icing reached the consistancy I wanted. This technique will give you greater control of the texture and thickness. Note: real vanilla may cost a little bit more, but is worth it compared to cheap imitation vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is 5 star but only with 1 TEASPOON of vanilla, as many others have said. Perfect on a soft sugar cookie cutout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNBAD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe did not work for me... It didnt even turn into icing... It was a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassypriscilla
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Eliminate the vanilla if you want white icing. If you want to color the icing black, make a chocolate icing by adding 1-T of baking cocoa with the powdered sugar. This made for a pretty, glossy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassypriscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States