Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe is good yet, I made some adjustments to make it better. Instead of butter I used cream cheese the icing seemed to hold together better and I used almond flavoring in place of vanilla. After my slight adjustments I can then make this icing thick enough for cinnamon rolls or thin enough to 'paint' my christmas cookies. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've used this recipe a few times now. And I love it. I just want to leave a note about the vanilla. It seems that when using real vanilla extract 1 teaspoon is plenty and when using imitation vanilla the tablespoon is more appropriate. Thanks to everyone else who rated this first or I might not have figured out what was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was a wonderfully simple icing recipe. Instead of using the full tablespoon of vanilla I used just 1 tsp of almond flavoring and it turned out great, especially when paired with the cream cheese sugar cookies recipe from this site. Add a few drops of different colors, spoon into a ziploc baggie and I was good to go. After about 2-3 hours the icing hardened enough to stack the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I usually read the reviews first, and boy do I wish I had this time! I was in a hurry, so used 1 TBSP of Pure Vanilla Extract ... Oh My Gosh! I added Cherry Flavoring to try to hide the vanilla taste, as well as more margarine and powder sugar. Definitely NOT 1 TBSP of Vanilla! It was alright besides the strong, strong vanilla taste. Seems to set o.k. Pretty glaze w/red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
the flavor is good, but it didn't harden like i wish it would. the icing smeared after i placed the cookies in their bags...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This recipe was fast and turned out very creamy. However, it calls for WAY too much vanilla. Half the amount is a better guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
The whole tablespoon of vanilla was too much-and without the foodcoloring, it makes brown icing. I would lessen the vanilla to a tsp., not a whole tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is an easy and yummy recipe for frosting. It is a little too heavy on the vanilla, so I cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Great glaze for anise cut outs. Note: Please use clear vanilla extract which is available at Michael's, etc. Clear vanilla prevents the brown icing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I think something is wrong with the measurements on this recipe. 1 TABLESPOON of Vanilla seems like it's too much. My sister and I tried it and all you can taste is the vanilla (WAY TOO STRONG).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States