Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe. I agree with everyone else, I used a teaspoon- NOT a whole tablespoon of pure vanilla extract. I didn't have a problem with the brown icing with just a teaspoon. This makes a great thick frosting (my husband made it this way) but I thinned it out and it also made a terrific glaze. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Just for everyone's info out there - You can buy pastuerized egg whites for icing as well! Doesnt have to be powdered whites... Makes for a very shiny cookie icing when cookies are iced hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manree24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the way I have always made my sugar cookie icing, without the measurements! You add more milk to the icing to get the consistency you desire. It's nice to finally have a recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Finally! I think I've found the perfect icing for sugar cookies. I've tried at least 10 different kinds over the years. Some aren't spreadable, others get too hard, others stay to soft. So far, on day 2, this icing is still perfect. Yummy and holds together well without getting too hard. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I doubled the batch, only used 2 tsps of Vanilla (total) and subbed half-n-half for the milk (it makes the frosting stiffer). also in a double batch, I only used 2 1/4 cups confectioner's sugar. Frosting dried with in an hour, looks great, tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
So delicious, can be eaten without cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I did use the suggestion to substitute cream cheese for the butter, I really enjoyed the taste and not sure if I would use the butter the recipe calls for, but it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made this frosting, as well as JBS' "Sugar Cookie Icing" so that I'd have the other recipe's hard, shiny glaze, and this one for piping thick, tooth-decaying, sugary wonderful-ness. SOOO good! I changed the ratio of the ingredients ever so slightly (2 c. confec. sugar, 1/3 c. butter, 1 tsp. vanilla) and the end result was a gooey, delicious icing that I am anxious to use on other baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have enough powdered sugar (I was short by about 1/2 c.), so I added corn starch to thicken it, and it worked great! I'm so happy I found this recipe...the store bought frostings all have trans-fat in them, but this one I made with Smart Balance Butter Blend, which has no trans fats! It's definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Next time i might put in a little less vanilla but other than that this recipe is PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States