Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Re-analyze the amount of vanilla that is used. I think this should be 1 teaspoon, not tablespoon. And if you should decide to alter this and substitute some of the vanilla for another extract, do NOT use more than 1/4 tsp of another flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have been using this recipe for over a year and I still swear by it! It's the PERFECT recipe for decorating and for taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I am going to try to make this icing for some sugar cookies I am going to make on Sunday.... I have attempted to make icing before but it always comes out watery... I am glad it doesn't use (high) fructose corn syrup because lots of icing recipes do.... I'll see how it works out and rate it then (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My daughters and I were making Halloween cookies, and just when we were about to decorate them, we found that we were out of frosting. I looked online, and found this recepie, and we all agreed that it was better than regular frosting! We made tons of cookies decorated with this delicious frosting, and we know they'll be a big hit when they take them to school tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Goes on smoothly. Add milk a little at a time to desired consistency. Has a shiny look to it. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
So delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Love this icing! Great taste! Very easy to make and dries beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Really good, and dries nicely. I only used 1 tsp of vanilla as a tablespoon seemed like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pinewood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Delicious and so easy to make! Using 1 tsp almond extract instead of vanilla extract was a great decision. Thanks to others for the suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Make sure your butter is really softened, if you stick your finger in the butter it should go straight through. The first time I made it, it was soft but not soft enough and I had to start over because I got lumps in the frosting. Other then that this is a great recipe for frosting, I only used 1 tsp of vanilla which I thought was plenty. Iced sugar cookies for valentines day, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States