Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is a great go to butter frosting recipe. No need to change anything. If I wanted cream cheese frosting, I would ask for a cream cheese recipe, no, this is super tasty and rich just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
it worked GREAT for my cookies. As everybody said, I cut way back on the vanila and still felt it was a little to much... I will try with even less vanila next time. I did the mix and used liquid food coloring, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I am reviewing this As Written- no modifications. The recipe calls for way to much vanilla extract. One teaspoon to one and a half would be fine. A whole tablespoon makes the frosting taste like extract. The consistency/end appearance were great but beware- don't follow the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
AMAZING!!!!! and super easy too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBear
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Awesome frosting! I usually try to follow the recipe exactly but as much as I love vanilla I did use about 1/2 the amount called for and just a touch extra milk to get the right consistency. Dried perfectly but still soft for the kids sugar cookies! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe I didn't reduce the vanilla but you definitely could. Also, the vanilla extract turns the icing a slightly brown color so I dyed it green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The only reason this lost a star is the vanill measurement which has been mentioned before. other than that, I love the consistency and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was super easy and my husband loved it, which made it my new go-to icing recipe. I did only put 1tsp of vanilla for the 8 serving size recipe. I also found it was a bit thin and added more confectioners' sugar. Not much, I just added a little at a time until I got the thickness I wanted. Love it though. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
At the advice of another reviewer I substituted the butter with cream cheese in one batch...boy was it totally different and not in a good way. The butter makes the "Butter" Icing creamy and so tasty! At one point I added 1 tablespoon extra of butter and oh my goodness was it soooo creamy and flavorful. I really like how the little bit of extra butter cuts the taste of confectioners' sugar. A taste I don't care much for. I like the sweetness but it has a strange bite I don't like so the butter wipes it out! The kids in my son's 2nd grade class just loved it for their Heart shaped cookies on Valentine's day! They couldn't get enough of the red, pink & purple frosting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very nice frosting! Tasty, and firms up well enough to transport the next day. It does begin to dry out a bit while frosting, but to soften it back up you can microwave it for a few seconds, or if in stainless bowls put on a low-heat burner for a few seconds (just be careful when handling). Will use again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States