Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used it as-is and it was perfect. (I used regular strength vanilla extract and it was good.) Icing was easy to spread and hardened nicely. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Pretty good - definitely used 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I assume it was a typo. Added an extra dash of milk. Really smooth and good amount of sweetness without overpowering the cookie. Took a lot more that 3 drops of food coloring to get red; I ended up using about 25 and it still was pinkish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was very tasty icing. I doubled the batch and used 2 1/4 c powdered sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Crusted nicely after frosted cookies sat out a day uncovered. The cookies were very delicious and this is a wonderful tasting icing. Will definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Decent recipe, little too sugary for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I only used 1 teaspoon of Vanilla, and it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very simple, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great icing... You can't go wrong with this recipe, loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Wonderful icing! I used only 1 tsp vanilla and refrigerated the cookies for 1 hour, hardening the icing to perfection. I gave the cookies half an hr to thaw after taking out of the fridge so they were soft when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
SO GOOD! I love this. It tastes wonderful. the butter does magic. Though add food coloring, comes out brown without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My little ones and I made this recipe and I have to say...wish I would have read the reviews. Way, way, way too much Vanilla. The consistency was way too wet and the vanilla was overpowering. I bet with half the vanilla it would work. Maybe I'll try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States