Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Really good frosting recipe, and it works well with sugar cookies as it doesn't end up becoming too hard, but hardens just enough so that your cookies aren't all stuck together with frosting either. I tripled the recipe due to the amount of cookies I made (as it doesn't make a whole lot as is), and used clear vanilla instead of regular vanilla. I also used gel food colorings to color my icing instead of liquid food coloring, though I suspect you would be able to thin it out very slightly (if you so desired) by using liquid food color. Overall, a really good sugar cookie icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This frosting was easy and taste good. I read the reviews about pure vanilal and used 1 tsp and 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. This frosting was more than enough for two dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe for icing. Of course, the poster should have listed that they were using IMITATION vanilla. If you use the real thing, like me, dont use so much. Also, I like to make a batch with a little vanilla and a little lemon. Lemon extract on sugar cookies is the best! Thanks for this recipe - easy, fast, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I USED SOURCREAM INSTED OF THE BUTTER AND THIS WAS WONDERFUL FROSTING. IT NEVER GOT TO HARD BUT HELD ITS SHAPE AND TASTED GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was great. It tastes just like my Mom used to make! I didn't use food coloring, so I used only 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to make sure it didn't get too brown. It was excellent--perfect consistency, not too soft or too hard! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies, and it worked perfectly. Next time I will make two batches, since I ran out toward the end. I used a little less vanilla, and the flavor was perfect. It also took coloring really well. Overall, a great frosting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Great Recipe!! I place them on one of my sugar cookie recipes and the family ate them all up. Defenitly way too much vanilla, I used a teaspoon which i think was the perferred measurement. perhaps a typo... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe. I read the reviews however, and decided to cut the vanilla back to 1 tbsp. Great recipe. One little pointer though for others like me who don't have a lot of frosting experience... don't melt your butter in the microwave. Just let it get to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I just made these for my sugar cookies. It tastes good out of the bowl. I cant wait to see how it will taste on the cookies. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Made this as directed except I substituted 2t almond extract for the 1T vanilla and it had great flavor. Plus, the frosting hardened just enough to stack the cookies safely, but didn't become rock hard. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States