Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I USED SOURCREAM INSTED OF THE BUTTER AND THIS WAS WONDERFUL FROSTING. IT NEVER GOT TO HARD BUT HELD ITS SHAPE AND TASTED GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was great. It tastes just like my Mom used to make! I didn't use food coloring, so I used only 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to make sure it didn't get too brown. It was excellent--perfect consistency, not too soft or too hard! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies, and it worked perfectly. Next time I will make two batches, since I ran out toward the end. I used a little less vanilla, and the flavor was perfect. It also took coloring really well. Overall, a great frosting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Great Recipe!! I place them on one of my sugar cookie recipes and the family ate them all up. Defenitly way too much vanilla, I used a teaspoon which i think was the perferred measurement. perhaps a typo... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I loved this recipe. I read the reviews however, and decided to cut the vanilla back to 1 tbsp. Great recipe. One little pointer though for others like me who don't have a lot of frosting experience... don't melt your butter in the microwave. Just let it get to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I just made these for my sugar cookies. It tastes good out of the bowl. I cant wait to see how it will taste on the cookies. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Made this as directed except I substituted 2t almond extract for the 1T vanilla and it had great flavor. Plus, the frosting hardened just enough to stack the cookies safely, but didn't become rock hard. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
use 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
good standard recipe, USE CLEAR VANILLA EXTRACT so it doesn't discolor the icing... not so much milk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RubyShoez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was a wonderfully simple icing recipe. Instead of using the full tablespoon of vanilla I used just 1 tsp of almond flavoring and it turned out great, especially when paired with the cream cheese sugar cookies recipe from this site. Add a few drops of different colors, spoon into a ziploc baggie and I was good to go. After about 2-3 hours the icing hardened enough to stack the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States