Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
this worked, but to me it tasted like liquid sugar. Maybe next time i'll find one with cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is really good. I used 2 tablespoons of butter and about one tablespoon of cream cheese. I also threw in a teaspoon or so of marshmallow fluff. It was smooth and creamy, yet hardened just enough to coat my sugar cookies well. I used it on the Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I would have given this a five star if it weren't for needing to adjust a couple of things. Primarily, definitely one teaspoon is plenty of vanilla extract. I followed the suggestion to substitute butter for cream cheese and I wouldn't make it any other way. With the substitutions, I would give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this frosting with butter and I only used 1 tsp vanilla. It was way to thick so I thinned it out with a little more milk. My kids loved it. This reminded me of the frosting my mom used to make when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
1 tsp instead of 1 Tablespoon of vanilla is the answer! With the switch the recipe is a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rloeding

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
this recipe was great except we changed the amount of the vanilla. That's way to much vanilla. We also changed the recipe to one of the viewers, changed out the butter to cream cheese and vanilla to almond extract. We used only 1 teaspoon of almond extract and tripled the recipe. One teaspoon was perfect for all of that. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good! Easy and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This works well on gingerbread cookies also. Thank you for the recipe. I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I found this recipe to be very simple and really delicious. I am not usually a big fan of confectioner's sugar frostings, but this one was really tasty and very easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States