Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just tried this. I liked it--you can adjust the consistancy to the kind of decorating you're doing, it's got good flavor (I wonder if the 1 Tablespoon is a misprint; I used 1 teaspoon), and it gets just the right amount of hardness on top so the cookies don't stick together. I think if you're doing intricate artwork on a cookie, you might want a harder icing, but for just plain GOOD EATIN', this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great icing! I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (after reading other reviews). I also used a few drops of milk at a time until the icing reached the consistancy I wanted. This technique will give you greater control of the texture and thickness. Note: real vanilla may cost a little bit more, but is worth it compared to cheap imitation vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is 5 star but only with 1 TEASPOON of vanilla, as many others have said. Perfect on a soft sugar cookie cutout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNBAD1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe did not work for me... It didnt even turn into icing... It was a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassypriscilla
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Eliminate the vanilla if you want white icing. If you want to color the icing black, make a chocolate icing by adding 1-T of baking cocoa with the powdered sugar. This made for a pretty, glossy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassypriscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The frosting came out delicious! I did add a little bit more milk to thin out frosting. What's nice is that it made a small batch so I didn't waste a bunch of leftover frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I did cut the vanilla in half after reading the other reviews and it worked great. I also had to add a little extra milk to get the texture just right. Excellent icing, really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Most of the other icing recipes I saw called for eggs and light corn syrup. I liked that this one didn't need either. However, I think this recipe may have called for too much sugar. When I made it, the texture just wasn't right, and I couldn't taste anything but the sugar. The other measurements seemed right and I think I'll try with less sugar. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I love this recipe but when I made it I think there was a little bit to much sugar so it was kind of grainy. But every thing was good i had it on the best sugar cookies111 well thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I used this icing with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" recipe submitted by Jill Saunders. It was a perfect combination! They looked beautiful, tasted great and everyone thought they were from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States