Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Denise Y.
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was exactly what I was looking for - a sugar cookie frosting without shortening. Perfect texture to spread on my cookies and it hardened to a slight shell so I could stack my cookies but was still creamy. I substituted almond milk (due to allergies) and followed one of the reviews and used 1 tsp vanilla since I used the real thing and not imitation. Already planning to use this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This icing was simply delicious! Not one cookie left! How can butter be so darned good! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
One tablespoon vanilla extract ruins this recipe. Cut that back to one teaspoon and you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe! Easy for kids to work with. If you use an electric mixer the icing turns out white, keep beating until it does. It is very tasty and hardens well also. Going to use this over an over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn Trelka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was very good and very easy. I just added as much milk as I needed for the consistency desired. Only added 1 tsp vanilla per reviews and no discoloration and no overwhelming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
i found this icing delicious light and fluffy i put a bit more milk and a bit less almond extract because i already had it in my cake it was delicious on my white cake that i topped off with some sliced strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect! Just what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Too much vanilla! Cut it back to about 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is my go to! I love that the ingredients are basic and have no egg or shortening!! Yummmmyyy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The recipe was pretty good. I added another tablespoon of milk and several tablespoons of powdered sugar to balance out the recipe. I used the frosting to make about four colors to decorate the Christmas Tree cookies, also on this site. They turned out delicious, melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States