Butter Icing for Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
One tablespoon vanilla extract ruins this recipe. Cut that back to one teaspoon and you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe! Easy for kids to work with. If you use an electric mixer the icing turns out white, keep beating until it does. It is very tasty and hardens well also. Going to use this over an over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn Trelka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was very good and very easy. I just added as much milk as I needed for the consistency desired. Only added 1 tsp vanilla per reviews and no discoloration and no overwhelming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
i found this icing delicious light and fluffy i put a bit more milk and a bit less almond extract because i already had it in my cake it was delicious on my white cake that i topped off with some sliced strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect! Just what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Too much vanilla! Cut it back to about 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is my go to! I love that the ingredients are basic and have no egg or shortening!! Yummmmyyy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLPOW
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The recipe was pretty good. I added another tablespoon of milk and several tablespoons of powdered sugar to balance out the recipe. I used the frosting to make about four colors to decorate the Christmas Tree cookies, also on this site. The turned out delicious, melt in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great recipe. i did cut down on the vanilla. this will be my go to Christmas cookie frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Agree with many of the other reviews about the amount of vanilla...too much and too strong. Next time I will use less, and use clear vanilla, so the colors are more vibrant. It is smart to check the reviews ahead of jumping in...lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States