Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Perfect icing! Icing was set by the time I finished icing the last sugar cut out. Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is a good basic icing. It tasted pretty good, and spread easily until it started to harden a bit. You could fix this by microwaving at 30% for a few seconds, or if using stainless steel bowls, let them sit on a burner on low for a few seconds. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really tasty and easy. I used powdered french vanilla creamer and mixed it with some milk. Sets quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a great icing. I didn't have cream on hand, so I used skim milk. Worked just fine. I used this icing to frost my Spritz cookies. Since the cookies were almond flavored, I added 1/2 tsp. almond extract to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Perfect!! I used this to decorate my Christmas cookies. It was easy to pipe and set up quickly and just firm enough not to get messed up when stacking. I used liquid red food coloring for a really rich color - beware that it changes the texture a little. But it still set up just fine! The gel coloring for other colors didn't affect it at all. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The flavor was good, but the icing started to harden almost immediately. It made it next to impossible to "frost" the cookies. I added a bit more cream to each bowl, and that thinned it a bit. In a pinch, I might use this again but I will likely continue my search for an icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I had a problem with timing on this icing it gets hard pretty quick. not that big of a deal if you just mix fast and keep it moving it stays plyable. but not an easy icind if your decorating the sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Perfect! I used this with "Soft Christmas Cookies." I spread the icing on the cookies and the kids decorated them with different types of sprinkles. The kids loved the cookies and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wow!! It's awesome....I did substitute with vanilla soymilk instead of cream.... I wish I knew how to make it without butter and powdered sugar and it come out just as sweet....but for now that will work...it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
It might just be, but I followed the recipe exactly yet I found the icing to be very difficult to work with. It hardened quickly and was difficult to spread. I had to put it on a double boiler and add water to it to get it to spread at all. It ended up being a real pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States