Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thank you thank you thank you! This is the basic recipe I use for cake icing, too. I have successfully made it for cookies before but it's always hit or miss since I never knew how much of anything I used. I just iced the sugar cookies I made and they are divine. Usually I just sprinkle on sugar but this is way better. It's an old recipe that makes cakey thick not-too-sweet cookies that are just perfect for frosting. I found that just stirring everything in the pan made the frosting smooth and perfect so I didn't bother with the mixer. I also kept a small amount of skim milk (used instead of cream) next to me and added a few drops whenever the icing dried out. No need for reheating or anything else. These were ready to layer between sheets of waxed paper in less than an hour. Thanks again for figuring out the proportions for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Worked perfectly. I didn't melt the butter. Mixed butter, cream, and vanilla together and then added powder sugar. The consistency was perfect for what I wanted. I made half a batch and frosted a dozen round cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love this icing because it is so easy to make and it stays nice and soft on the inside while hardening enough to stack the cookies. I used it to ice the Nauvoo Gingerbread Cookies from this site. As some have pointed out, the icing is not totally white because of the vanilla, but it is not an unpleasant color. It looked perfect with the dark gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is a great recipe just like my mom always made. She didn't cook it on the stove though and just added melted butter to the mix. It's easy to work with and tasty. I much prefer this to icing made with creamed butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Perfect for decorating Christmas cookies and the taste is great. I will never use another recipe for decorating cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Tastes delicious, dries nice. Use a sandwich baggie, cut off the very tip so that it makes a small hole, and you can decorate like a pro! Mix colors in the plastic baggies by dropping a small amount of food coloring (or flavoring) into the bag, squeeze gently until all mixed. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RubyRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
A very, very difficult icing to work with when following the recipe exactly. I then heeded other reviewers advice. Despite continuous stirring and leaving over low heat, the icing just crumbled when I attempted to spread it on my snowflake cookies. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup or more of cream and using the icing as a glaze. I then dipped my cookies or drizzled icing over the top. Although flavorful, I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very tasty icing! Not too hard, not too soft. I used it to fill thumbprint cookies and the icing set well but did not get rock hard. I could layer the cookies and still have soft icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Awesome! I loved it - I followed the recipe exactly (well I may have used a good healthy 4 tablesoons of butter; but other than that I didn't change a thing. I used this with my gingerbread cookies. I put it in a baggy and cut a tiny hole in the corner and decorated that way -- very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren4521
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a great icing recipe that we used for Christmas 07! It was easy for the kids to handle and hardened nicely (just right). It did have to be thinned between uses but that's to be expected doing this with kids! I'm getting ready to do our holiday cookies again and am looking forward to the same great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States