Butter Icing for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Giving this recipe a three because although the taste was perfect, the texture and workability was HORRIBLE! Too much trouble for what it's worth. It gets hard and un-spreadable far too quickly! You're better off searching for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent on sugar cookies - perfect consistency and texture. I get so many compliments on this frosting, I will never try another recipe again... this is it! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine White Haskins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This icing dried too quickly for me. I kept rewarming the icing and after a few cookies, I gave up and used another recipe. This recipe tasted good, but would have been better if I was using a piping bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Perfect! I spent almost an hour searching the web for an icing recipe for cookies that would be firm enough to send with my son to school. Every one I've tried in the past was either tasty, but soft and messy, or rock hard with flavors that were mediocre at best. This icing was quick, easy, delicious, and firm enough to stack within an hour, but still tender to the bite. Exactly what I was looking for! I substituted french vanilla coffee creamer for the cream, otherwise followed the recipe. (Try White Velvet Cut-Outs with this icing...it's by far the best cut-out cookie I've ever had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Tastes great, like the supermarket soft sugar cookie icing, but the texture and spreadability were off a little, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for! I kept the pan on the stove on VERY low just to keep it from hardening. I had to stir before each time I iced a cookie but it was well worth it. This icing is not too soft or hard. You can stack cookies after they dry. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is the perfect sugar cookie icing recipe. I put it on top of the Soft Sugar Cookies IV recipe on this site and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This icing tasted great! It was perfect on cut out sugar cookies. It was so nice to able to stack the cookies to transport and the icing stayed put and the cookies did not stick together. I made no changes and did find that you had to work quickly or it would dry out and be hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly. Was a good consistency for icing cookies but as it got cooler it thickened up, sort of tricky to use. Good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States